The Fall - 458489 - The A Sides (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

The seventeen songs collected here come from The Fall’s Brix Smith era, aka “the golden era of Fall releases.” This is a perfect introduction to the band, and as legendary critic Robert Christgau said, it’s “The only Fall record any normal person need own”. Bypassing their edgy, early singles and concentrating on their artier, more eclectic work of the mid- and late '80s, 45 84 89 - The A-Sides encapsulates nearly all of the Fall's many attributes. all of the singles on a-sides are culled from the era when Brix Smith was in the band, arguably the band's most cohesive and rewarding years. drawing from their strongest albums - The Wonderful and Frightening World of the Fall, This Nation's Saving Grace, Bend Sinister, The Frenz Experiment - A Sides offers an excellent introduction to the Fall. it is both a useful retrospective and a kind of road map, pointing out the differences between albums. for neophytes and the uninitiated, there is no better sampler, and for long-time fans, the collection reiterates what a fine singles band the fall were in their heyday.

LP - Originally released in 1990, this pressing is on white vinyl.


I know that hardcore fans mostly prefer the earliest stuff to the Brix years, but I'm fully in love with this period of the band where they struck the (for me) perfect balance of artsy, rocking, grating, and catchy. And even though I've got all the albums of the period, I love hearing a bunch of their catchiest stuff back to back to back like this. Opens with the weakest song and then just keeps rolling out "hit" after "hit" of their playfully abrasive middle period. This is the easiest way into their world for those who aren't familiar unless you're willing to just go for the 2-disc jobber 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong which covers all periods and does a pretty damn flawless job of selecting from them all. But if you're looking for an easy in, this is it. If you're a fan already, there's no special reason to pick this up, but I guarantee it's more consistent than any of the albums. But inconsistency is part of their bag, and therein lies their charm.

By: Nervenet.

A1 Oh! Brother
A2 C.R.E.E.P.
A3 No Bulbs 3
A4 Rollin' Dany
A5 Couldn't Get Ahead
A6 Cruiser's Creek
A7 L.A.
A8 Living Too Late
B1 Hit The North (Part 1)
B2 Mr.Pharmacist
B3 Hey! Luciani
B4 There's a Ghost In My House
B5 Victoria
B6 Big New Printz
B7 Wrong Place, Right Time No.2
B8 Jerusalem
B9 Dead Beat Descendant
B3 I Can't See Your Face In My Mind
B4 When The Music's Over

Catalogue Number: 0825646289448

Record Label: Parlophone / Warner