The Doors - Strange Days (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €25,00
Tax included.

Strange Days is the second studio album by the American rock band The Doors, released on September 25, 1967, by Elektra Records. The album was a commercial success, and contains the Top 30 hit singles "People Are Strange" and "Love Me Two Times".

LP pressing on 180-gram vinyl.


It comes as little surprise that Strange Days is largely drawn from the same stockpile that provided the songs on The Doors, the band’s debut album. It’s also not surprising that many fans feel that most of the best material from this trove wound up on The Doors. An exception is “People are Strange,” which was written after the release of The Doors, and which was the most successful single from Strange Days.
I will say, though, that of the two longer-form pieces the group had written before their first album, “When the Music’s Over,” the last song here, is better than “The End,” which serves the same role on The Doors.
Like its predecessor (The Doors) and its successor (Waiting for the Sun), Strange Days opens with a solid rocker—although “Strange Days” isn’t of the quality of “Break on Through” or “Hello I Love You.” And while the song quality on those other albums is maintained over the next several tracks, the opening song on Strange Days is followed with the relatively weak “You’re Lost Little Girl.” Other than “People Are Strange,” the only standout track is “Love Me Two Times.”

By: PatrickQ.

A1 Strange Days
A2 You're Lost Little Girl
A3 Love Me Two Times
A4 Unhappy Girl
A5 Horse Latitudes
A6 Moonlight Drive
B1 People Are Strange
B2 My Eyes Have Seen You
B3 I Can't See Your Face In My Mind
B4 When The Music's Over

Warner Records / Elektra Records.