Taylor Swift - 1989 (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €24,00
Tax included.

1989 is the fifth studio album by American singer-songwriter Taylor Swift, released on October 27, 2014, through Big Machine Records/Universal Music. Following the release of her cross-genre fourth studio album Red (2012), noted for pop hooks and electronic production, the media questioned the validity of Swift's status as a country artist. Inspired by 1980s synth-pop to create a record that shifted her sound and image from country-oriented to mainstream pop, Swift enlisted Max Martin as co-executive producer, and named her fifth album after her birth year.
The album's synth-pop sound is characterized by heavy synthesizers, programmed drums, and processed backing vocals. Swift wrote the songs inspired primarily by her personal relationships, which had been a trademark of her songwriting. The songs on 1989 express lighthearted perspectives towards failed romance, departing from her previous antagonistic attitude.

Having been known as "America's Sweetheart" thanks to her wholesome and down-to-earth image, Swift saw her reputation blemished by her history of romantic relationships with a series of high-profile celebrities. Her relationship with English singer Harry Styles during the promotion of Red was a particular subject for tabloid gossip. She disliked the media portraying her as a "serial-dater", feeling it undermined her professional work, and became more reticent to discuss her personal life in public. Most of the album's lyrics were derived from Swift's journal detailing her personal life; she had been known for autobiographical narratives in her songwriting since her debut. A new inspiration this time was her relocation to New York City in March 2014, which gave Swift a sense of freedom to embark on new ideas. Swift also took inspiration from the media scrutiny of her image to write satirical songs about her perceived image. 


Good, solid pop album from TS.
Judging by other comments, she does seem a bit of a divisive character doesn't she? And maybe hard to really love, to get close to. She certainly seems to have more than her fair share of break-up songs! But that doesn't alter the underlying quality running through 1989. I sometimes think that she should give us a bit more variety, but most of these tracks work well, and some, as usual, very well! A solid 4 if you ignore the hype and just enjoy the music.

Welcome to New York, Blank Space, Style and Out of the Woods provide a belting start, then there's a bit of a dip until Wildest Dream (brilliant) starts a great final section of tracks.

By: Duke1951.

A1 Welcome To New York
A2 Blank Space
A3 Style
B1 Out Of The Woods
B2 All You Had To Do Was Stay
B3 Shake It Off
C1 I Wish You Would
C2 Bad Blood
C3 Wildest Dreams
D1 How You Get The Girl
D2 This Love
D3 I Know Places
D4 Clean

• Art Direction – Bethany Newman, Josh Newman*
• Creative Director – Taylor Swift
• Design – Amy Fucci, Austin Hale
• Executive-Producer – Max Martin, Taylor Swift
• Mastered By – MK (11)
• Other [Hair] – Jemma Muradian
• Other [Makeup] – Lorrie Turk
• Other [Wardrobe Stylist] – Joseph Cassell
• Photography By – Sarah Barlow, Stephen Schofield*