Roisin Murphy - Roisin Machine (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Róisín Machine is the fifth solo studio album by Irish singer Róisín Murphy, released on 2 October 2020 by Skint Records. Róisín Machine received critical acclaim upon its release, ranking among the best albums of 2020 by several publications. Commercially, Róisín Machine became Murphy's highest-charting album in both Ireland and the UK.

A departure from the art pop, trip hop, and bossa nova influences of her previous works, Róisín Machine marks a turn into dance-oriented club music. The album features influences of disco, nu-disco, house, electropop, funk, post-disco, electro-R&B, Chicago house, dub, wonky pop, and minimal funk. The album's songs reject traditional pop structures in a manner similar to vintage disco 12-inch singles.



Disco/House revival. The opener Simulation went on a bit too long but the album gets better. Kingdom of Ends goes in a darker direction, echoing Massive Attack with background vocals by Rhianna Kenny.
The singles Something More and Murphy's Law held my attention with the immaculate, layered production and infectious hooks. Shellfish Mademoiselle didn't grab me as much and felt like a filler track.
Incapable revels in its disco aspirations and makes you want to dance, Murphy electing to include the edited down single version. The house-infused We Got Together takes its cue from 80/90s nostalgia, with an addictive beat.
Game Changer goes for a hypnotic dream-like haze. Narcissus might be my least favorite of the singles for the vocals although the lyrics have a timeless appeal. The final track Jealousy could have benefited from slowing down the groove as almost goes too fast.

To sum up, very enjoyable. There's more good than mediocre on this project. Not sure yet if has the durability of Jessie Ware's 2020 disco album What's Your Pleasure? Time will tell!

By: Mas365

A1 Simulation
A2 Kingdom Of Ends
B1 Something More
B2 Shellfish Mademoiselle
B3 Incapable
C1 We Got Together
C2 Murphy's Law
C3 Game Changer
D1 Narcissus
D2 Jealousy

Artwork – Bráulio Amado
Engineer [Engineered And Built By] – David Lewin
Lacquer Cut By – RKS*
Mastered By – Randy Merrill
Photography By – Adrian Samson
Producer – The Crooked Man*
Gatefold sleeve.

Track A2 is titled "Kingdom Of Endz" on the outer sleeve and A-side label, and as "Kingdom Of Ends" on the inner sleeve and credits.

This version does not have the vertical text “Made in Poland” next to the barcode.