REM - In Time: The Best Of REM 1988-2003 (2x LP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988–2003 is the second official compilation album released by R.E.M. Issued in 2003, it includes tracks from their Warner Bros. Records era, from 1988's Green to 2001's Reveal, as well as two new recordings and two songs from movie soundtracks. 

"Bad Day" was a demo version in 1986, a Life's Rich Pageant outtake when Bill Berry was still in the band, and was re-recorded for this compilation. "Animal" was a recent song written for their upcoming studio album. Similarly, "All the Right Friends", originally written in the early 1980s, had been re-recorded by the band for use in Cameron Crowe's 2001 film Vanilla Sky. Finally, "The Great Beyond" was initially issued in 1999 as part of Miloš Forman's film on Andy Kaufman, Man on the Moon. It ended up becoming the band's biggest UK hit, with a No. 3 peak, in early 2000. This, the third inclusion of the song on an official release, is the only unedited version. On the Man on the Moon soundtrack, there is some dialogue from the movie at the end of the track; the single version is a radio edit, with the bridge omitted.

In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988–2003 was also issued in a limited two-disc edition that included a "Rarities and B-Sides" disc from the same era, with liner notes by Peter Buck. There is also a vinyl edition which consists of two LPs inside a gatefold cover and a limited CD box-set edition featuring all eighteen tracks on their own individual one-track CDs, with cover art from the original singles.

A notable omission from the album is the song "Shiny Happy People" which was deliberately left out by the band despite it being one of their biggest hits. They must've really loved that song!


I can never believe the people who warble on about post 88 R.E.M being sell outs and not being as good. The sound changed when the band went major label, but this happens with all bands who are 5 or 6 albums into their career. It's called developing. This collection showcases the most played R.E.M material rather than the best from 88-03. While the majority of the music is excellent, there are many criminal ommisions. Its a nice place to get the hard to find "The Great Beyond" and "All the Right Friends" as well as "Bad Day". I'm not a fan of new track "Animal".

I love R.E.M and they are one of these bands where I just don't think a "Best Of" can ever come near to giving a person a proper taste of them. They are a proper "album" band and its on their non single tracks that you find the real gems. My personal advice would be to listen to all the bands albums (maybe you can leave out Around The Sun) in chronological order - you wont regret it. This isn't a bad place to start your R.E.M obsession and is also handy if you liked a few of their tracks but don't want to commit to getting a few albums.


By: Therealricko

A1 Man On The Moon 5:12
A2 The Great Beyond 5:04
A3 Bad Day 4:05
A4 What's The Frequency, Kenneth? 3:58

B1 All The Way To Reno 4:43
B2 Losing My Religion 4:26
B3 E-Bow The Letter (Backing Vocals – Patti Smith) 5:22
B4 Orange Crush 3:50
B5 Imitation Of Life 3:56

C1 Daysleeper 3:37
C2 Animal 4:00
C3 The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite 4:06
C4 Stand 3:09
C5 Electrolite 4:04

D1 All The Right Friends 2:45
D2 Everybody Hurts 5:17
D3 At My Most Beautiful 3:33
D4 Nightswimming 4:16

Administrator – Andy Olyphant, Kevin O'Neil (3), Liza Joseph, Peter Standish
Advisor – Bertis Downs*
Artwork [Packaging] – Chris Bilheimer, Michael Stipe
Editor [Digitally Edited] – Stewart Whitmore
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Bryan Gallant (tracks: A3, C2), John Keane (tracks: A3, C2), Kirk McNally (tracks: A3, C2)
Liner Notes – Peter Buck
Management [Office] – Amy Hairston, Chris Bilheimer, David Bell (21), Kevin O'Neil (3), Mercer Brockenbrough Davis, Meredith Williams, Sarah Petit Frierson*
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By – Pat McCarthy (tracks: A3, C2)
Musician [Additional] – Scott McCaughey, Bill Rieflin*
Photography By – Anton Corbijn, Chris Bilheimer
Producer – Pat McCarthy (tracks: A3, B1, B5, C1, C2, D1), R.E.M., Scott Litt (tracks: A1, A2, A4, B2-B4, C3-C5, D2, D4)
Recorded By – Jamie Candiloro (tracks: A3, C2)
Technician – Pat McCarthy
Technician [Technical Assistance] – Bob Weber, Bob Whittaker, DeWitt Burton
Written-By – Berry* (tracks: A1-A4, B2-B4, C3-C5, D1, D2, D4 ), Stipe*, Mills*, Buck*

Gatefold sleeve. B/w credits and additional information insert.
180g Black
Made in the EU
Runtimes measured by digitalizing the vinyl and having timed each track on computer.