Queens Of The Stone Age - Villains (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Villains is the seventh studio album by American rock band Queens of the Stone Age, on August 25, 2017 through Matador Records. The album was announced on June 14, with a teaser trailer taking the form of a comedy skit featuring the band performing a polygraph test with Liam Lynch. The first single, “The Way You Used To”, was released the following day along with the announcement of a world tour. Villains is the first Queens of the Stone Age album to not feature any special guest musicians, the second to not feature Mark Lanegan, and the first to feature Jon Theodore as full time member of the band. The album received widely positive reviews and performed well commercially.
The cover art for Villains was designed by graphic artist Boneface, who designed the artwork for Queens of the Stone Age's previous album, ...Like Clockwork. It was the first time that the band had returned to an artist to request artwork on a subsequent album.


My two favourite QOTSA albums are "Songs For The Deaf" and "Like Clockwork". The former, a legendary record at this stage, for keeping an insane level of intensity throughout. The latter for its maturity, intelligence and ability to interest. Much of the rest of their back catalog fails to engage across a full album. "Villains", while not up with their absolute best work is a major success when you consider some of the risks they took. Probably not hard enough for many long time "Queens" fans who would have despaired at the inclusion of Mark Ronson on production duties but I think "Villains" works. The album is direct rock, hard but not heavy and with a funky pop undertone. It's both engaging and enjoyable, two factors that make for a good album. Everything you get on top is a bonus. There are easily 3 or 4 outstanding numbers on this.

By: TheRealRicko.

A1 Feet Don't Fail Me
A2 The Way You Used To Do
A3 Domesticated Animals
B4 Fortress
B5 Head Like A Haunted House
B6 Un-Reborn Again
C7 Hideaway
C8 The Evil Has Landed
C9 Villains Of Circumstance

Includes Free Download Of The Entire Album On MP3 And FLAC

Gatefold cover.
Printed inner sleeves.
Lyrics sheet.
Side D has an etching. Opposed to the US edition there is no matrix on side D but a black label only.

OLE-1125-8 P&C 2017 Queens Of The Stone Age Under License To Matador Records