Planxty - Between The Jigs and The Reels: A Retrospective (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

Between the Jigs and the Reels: A Retrospective is a two-disc anthology by the Irish folk band Planxty. 

Between the Jigs and the Reels:A Retrospective received positive reviews from folk music critics.

"The boys are back. This CD/DVD is a timely reminder, 44 years after their debut, of the revolutionary musical imaginations that fuelled Planxty’s music and shaped so much of what has happened since then in the world of traditional music."
"There is a healthy balance between the show-stoppers (Little Musgrave) and the infinite complexities of the tunes (Baneasa’s Green Glade), with plenty of space in between to make room for every listener."
"The gargantuan DVD, bursting with outtakes from a slew of RTÉ recordings, is a treasure trove, with complementary versions of seminal recordings that will have ally self-respecting trad anoraks comparing and contrasting album and DVD for months."
"Between the Jigs and the Reels is also striking for the riches of Planxty’s ensemble contributions: all multi-instrumentalists, with three vocalists rambling from the west coast of Clare to the furthest reaches of eastern Europe, propelled by calculus-like rhythms and genteel vocals."

"Planxty are one of those seminal Irish acts doomed to bask in an aura of reverence while remaining essentially obscure to all but a tiny subset of the listening public."
"A new overview of their accomplishments, may go towards restoring the group to the prominence folk purists agree they deserve."

"This wonderful and impressively assembled collection tells the story of a morphing ensemble of musicians, songwriters, collectors, arrangers, and singers with a mutual lust for the discovery of music from different times and different places. The songs and tunes they collected and arranged, including everything from soft introverted ballads to whirling regional fiddle tunes, from haunting airs to skittering Balkan jams, all somehow made sense within this unique narrative of traditional and folk music they had sculpted and named Planxty."
"This package of Planxty music is an arduously-curated goldmine of recordings, TV appearances and live sets that both the band and their fans deserve. Delve in. Lose yourself in it."


N/A - Brand New Release

A1 True Love Knows No Season (Billy Gray) 5:29
A2 Pat Reilly 3:15
A3 Sí Bheag, Sí Mhór 3:33
A4 Follow Me Up To Carlow 2:20
A5 Băneasă's Green Glade/Mominsko Horo 5:48

B1 Aconry Lasses/The Old Wheels Of The World/The Spike Island Lasses 3:32
B2 The Pursuit Of Farmer Michael Hayes 6:10
B3 Accidentals/Aragon Mill 6:02
B4 The Irish Marche 3:37

C1 The Rambling Siúler 4:19
C2 The Well Below The Valley 5:30
C3 Junior Crehan's Favourite/Corney is Coming (Reels)) 2:36
C4 Roger O'Hehir 5:33

D1 Smeceno Horo 4:32
D2 The West Coast of Clare 5:30
D3 Nancy Spain 3:32
D4 Timedance 6:30

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Universal Music Ireland Ltd.
Copyright © – Universal Music Ireland Ltd.
Mastered At – Fluid Mastering
Design [Album Artwork] – Gary Baker (20)
Liner Notes – Leagues O'Toole
Management [Managed By] – Stan Roche
Mastered By – Nick Watson, Oli Morgan, Tim Debney
Performer – Andy Irvine, Christy Moore, Dónal Lunny*, Liam O'Flynn

Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode: 602577143564
Label Code: LC01846
Rights Society: BIEM/SDRM