Pixies - Surfer Rosa (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Surfer Rosa is the debut studio album by the American alternative rock band Pixies, released in March 1988 on the British label 4AD. It was produced by Steve Albini (who also produced local band Larry). Surfer Rosa contains many of the elements of Pixies' earlier output, including Spanish lyrics and references to Puerto Rico. It includes reference to mutilation and voyeurism alongside experimental recording techniques and a distinctive drum sound.
Surfer Rosa is often included on critics' lists of the best rock albums. Alternative rock artists including Billy Corgan and PJ Harvey have cited it as an inspiration; it was an influence on Nirvana’s 1991 album Nevermind, and the band hired Albini to record their 1993 album In Utero.


I'll say what every other human being has already stated about this album - it's brilliant! The "soft-loud" formula that Kurt Cobain so generously gave props to numerous times throughout his life goes directly to the Pixies. There are many arguments that the Pixies didn't create this style of playing, but who cares this album is a rip-roaring good time. From the opening of "Bone Machine" to the sweet and funny "Gigantic" these songs are a blast. Every last song is unblemished and I want to find one single person who can honestly say that don't enjoy "Where Is My Mind?." It's just an aneurysm of sound that screeches at times, but still carries out with a lovely melody. You can't go wrong with this album. Highly recommended!!

By: Jasonle

A1 Bone Machine
A2 Break My Body
A3 Something Against You
A4 Broken Face
A5 Gigantic
A6 River Euphrates
B1 Where Is My Mind?
B2 Cactus
B3 Tony’s Theme
B4 Oh My Golly!
B5 Vamos
B6 I’m Amazed
B7 Brick Is Red

On 4AD Records. Recorded and mixed in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. Produced and engineered by Steve Albini.
*Please note that the front cover of this LP is ‘banned’ due to the showing of paid of breasts. We’ve loaded an alternative pic.