Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Who Built The Moon? (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €26,00
Tax included.

Who Built the Moon? is the third studio album by English rock band Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds. It was released on 24 November 2017, through Sour Mash Records/Warner Records. The album was produced by Belfast-based wizard David Holmes. Gallagher revealed that the woman on the album's cover is his wife Sara MacDonald. Despite the album's favourable critical reception, its reception was divided amongst Gallagher's fanbase. AllMusic gave the album a very positive review, noting that "There is a certain rush hearing him opt for glam, psychedelia, and candied pop instead of respectable strumming. Once that initial rush fades, the album is still satisfying due to its impeccable execution. Noel knows how to construct a sturdy song and Holmes knows how to dress them up in flashy clothes, and the combination results in Gallagher's best album since splitting up Oasis."

1LP on Gatefold 180g Heavyweight Vinyl.


This is almost certainly Noels most devise album in his 25+ year making music. He takes a step away from his Britpop/Indie roots and creates what he called "Cosmic Pop". Although the album is not perfect it is pretty good with some real highlights. The first side of the record is solid. 'Fort Knox' is a decent opening track, setting the tone for the album. 'Holy Mountain' is horn driven and fast paced, its a good track and you can see why it was the first single. There are some tracks on the album which are lacking lyrically, 'Keep On Reaching' and 'She Taught Me How To Fly' are two examples that don't feature alot of progressing beyond some repeated phrases for most of the track. However, the later still manages to be one to the best on the album. Once you flip the record over there is a bit of a dip in quality 'Be Careful What You Wish For' and 'Black And White Sunshine' are maybe my two least favourite songs on the LP. They aren't bad but just forgettable. The quality picks up again though with 'If Love is The Law' which is an upbeat, bell-filled, joyful affair and 'The Man Who Built The Moon' which is menacing and has some of the best lyrics on the album. I have the vinyl which doesn't feature 'Dead In The Water' which is a shame as it is a gorgeous song, one of Noels best in years. Although I understand why it was maybe left off as it doesn't fit in with the album aesthetically being an acoustic track.
Overall, Who Built The Moon is a good album. Side 1 is really solid, the album is just let down a little by some of the songs on side 2. WBTM is a interesting experiment for Noel, I wouldn't want his next album to be in this style but i'm glad we have this one.

By: Glasshat.

A1 Fort Knox
A2 Holy Mountain
A3 Keep On Reaching
A4 It's A Beautiful World
A5 She Taught Me How To Fly
A6 Be Careful What You Wish For

B1 Black & White Sunshine
B2 Interlude (Wednesday Part 1)
B3 If Love Is The Law
B4 The Man Who Built The Moon
B5 End Credits (Wednesday Part 2)

Catalogue Number: 0190295774829
Record Label: Parlophone / Warner