Neil Young - Live at Carnegie Hall 1970 (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

Another new release from the vast vaults of Canadian artist Neil Young - ‘Carnegie Hall 1970’. Young has selected this concert he played at New York’s Carnegie Hall on December 4th, 1970 as the inaugural release from his Official Bootleg series.

The show rounded off a seminal year for Young who had released the ‘After The Gold Rush’ record just 3 months earlier in September which followed on from the ‘Déjà Vu’ album he recorded as part of Crosby, Still, Nash & Young in March of the same year.

This show is a never before heard recording with Young playing solo on vocals, acoustic guitar, piano and harmonica. Young played two solo acoustic shows at Carnegie Hall that week. “Listening to existing bootlegs, it seems that all the bootleggers got the second Carnegie Hall show,” Young writes on the Neil Young Archives. “There was one at 8:00 pm and one at midnight [about 27 hours later]. No one got that first one — the first time I walked onstage at Carnegie Hall, blowing my own 25-year-old mind.”

Change happens fast. At Carnegie Hall, I hear myself doing a new song, one about my ranch I had just moved to – ‘Old Man.’ Time flies.



N/A - Brand New Release (October 1st 2021)

A1 Down By The River 4:23
A2 Cinnamon Girl 3:33
A3 I Am A Child 2:50
A4 Expecting To Fly 4:01
A5 The Loner 5:28
A6 Wonderin' 2:00

B1 Helpless 4:14
B2 Southern Man 4:47
B3 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing 5:31
B4 Sugar Mountain 8:13

C1 On The Way Home 3:27
C2 Tell Me Why 3:10
C3 Only Love Can Break Your Heart 3:04
C4 Old Man 3:31
C5 After The Gold Rush 5:13
C6 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong 4:15

D1 Cowgirl In The Sand 4:00
D2 Don't Let It Bring You Down 2:33
D3 Birds 3:13
D4 Bad Fog Of Loneliness 2:21
D5 Ohio 3:08
D6 See The Sky About To Rain 3:45
D7 Dance Dance Dance 3:14

Guitar, Harmonica, Piano, Vocals – Neil Young
Lacquer Cut By – CB*
Lighting – Stephen Cohen*
Management [Direction] – Elliot Roberts
Mastered By – Chris Bellman
Mixed By [Assistant], Edited By [Assistant] – Chandler Harrod
Mixed By, Edited By – The Volume Dealers
Producer – Neil Young, Niko Bolas, The Volume Dealers
Recorded By – Henry Lewy
Songwriter [All Songs By] – Neil Young
Technician [Sound] – Bob Sterne

Hype sticker:
The legendary solo acoustic show
Carnegie Hall, New York
December 5, 1970 [This date is incorrect]
22 songs on 2 LP’s

Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, N.Y.C. December 4, 1970
From the original Non-Dolby Scotch 1 inch to ATR 1/4 inch tape.
Mixed and edited at Capitol Studio 3 from October 26-28, 2020.
Final editing for both on election day November 3, 2020