Nadine Shah - Kitchen Sink (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €26,00
Tax included.

Kitchen Sink is the fourth studio album by English musician Nadine Shah. It was released on June 26, 2020 under Infectious Music/Warner Records.

When Tyneside songwriter Nadine Shah turned 34, the background hum of friends coupling off, getting married and having babies began to amplify to an un-ignorable volume. Not sure quite how to compare her own life to the expectations of society around her, Shah began having conversations that would serve as catalysts for her fourth record, Kitchen Sink.

“I ended up with a collection of stories” explained Shah, “Women who have had children, women who want to have children and can’t physically, women who can physically but choose not to… all different scenarios.” What happens if you have children – and what happens if you don’t have children – stalks the record. “I am aware of the passing of time” Shah incants slowly and repeatedly on the excellent ‘Dillydally’. Where the album’s predecessor Holiday Destination was a record of urgent, elegant post-punk, Kitchen Sink is spacious – allowing Shah room to get inside topics like catcalling, on the warm and infectious ‘Club Cougar’, or male expectations of women and childbearing on single ‘Ladies for Babies (Goats for Love)’.


This is the fourth album from Nadine Shah who is now starting to build quite a formidable body of work. I'm guessing the album title refers to the kitchen sink drama theatre that was popular in Britain in the 1950s and 60s where the main theme seemed to be of turbulence within the working class. There always seems to be turbulence in Nadine Shahs albums, from the personal on her first album to the political on her third album. Now on her fourth its back to the personal again but instead of dealing with soured relationships its more about Nadine Shad maybe trying to deal with her place in the world. Its the least immediate album she has put out and it took me quite a few listens to get into it (as was the case with her previous work) but it was worth the effort and this is a strong addition to her discography. Not her best work though, that's still her previous album Holiday Destination, but the diversity of sound in each of her four albums is very impressive and she really has proven herself to be one of Britains top artists. If I had one criticism its that I wish she would expand her horizons a bit more and try to write songs that have more universal rather than just British appeal. The United States for example could really do with hearing the music of Nadine Shah

By: Yakubu

A1 Club Cougar
A2 Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)
A3 Buckfast
A4 Dillydally
A5 Trad

B1 Kitchen Sink
B2 Kite
B3 Ukrainian Wine
B4 Wasps Nest
B5 Walk
B6 Prayer Mat

Liner Notes – Nadine Shah
Management – Ros Earls
Mastered By [Uncredited] – Katie Tavini
Musician – Ben Nichols*, Neill MacColl, Pete Wareham
Producer – Ben Hillier
Written-By – Ben Hillier, Nadine Shah