Kaleo - A/B (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €25,00
Tax included.

A/B is the second studio album by Icelandic rock band Kaleo. It was released on 10 June 2016 through Elektra Records. Kaleo (stylized as KALEO) is an Icelandic rock band, which formed at Mosfellsbær in 2012; it consists of lead vocalist and guitarist JJ Julius Son, drummer David Antonsson, bassist Daniel Kristjansson, lead guitarist Rubin Pollock and harmonicist Þorleifur Gaukur Davíðsson. They have released two studio albums, Kaleo (2013) and A/B (2016), as well as an EP, Glasshouse (2013). A/B has sold over one million albums worldwide.


Quite hard to describe this novel album from the land of ice and fire.

It starts like a heavy rocker and finishes like a bluesy, folk album. Make sense of that then! Despite the slightly schizophrenic structure though this album works sublimely well! The vocals are strong throughout and the guitar sections provide a driving force on the first half and gentle support in the second. It's either a complete accident that the two styles work so well together or very cleverly done - I'd like to think that it's the latter!

No Good and the more subdued Way Down We Go are a gold standard start, Glass House and Hot Blood rip through the middle and All The Pretty Girls and Save Yourself wrap things up quite nicely.

As I mentioned earlier - sublime!

By: Duke1951

A1 No Good
A2 Way Down We Go
A3 Broken Bones
A4 Glass House
A5 Hot Blood

B6 All The Pretty Girls
B7 Automobile
B8 Vor Í Vaglaskógi
B9 Save Yourself
B10 I Can't Go On Without You

A&R – Gregg Nadel
A&R [Adminsitration] – Craig Rosen (2)
Art Direction, Design – Matt Meiners
Bass – Daníel Ægir Kristjánsson*
Directed By [Marketing] – Adam Walker (4), Gregg Nadel
Drums, Percussion, Vocals – Davíð Antonsson
Guitar, Vocals – Rubin Pollock
Management – Bruce Kalmick
Management [Art] – Rob Gold (2)
Management [Day To Day] – Rachel Cave
Mixed By – Andrew Scheps (tracks: A1 to A5, B7, B9, B10), Arnar Guðjónsson (tracks: B6, B8), Jacquire King (tracks: B9, B10)
Photography By [Band] – Hörður Freyr
Photography By [Satellite] – Icelandic Met Office, NASA (10)
Producer – Arnar Guðjónsson (tracks: A3, B6, B8), Jacquire King (tracks: A1, A4, A5, B9, B10), Kaleo (3) (tracks: A2, A3, B6 to B8), Mike Crossey (tracks: A2)
Producer [Additional] – Jacquire King (tracks: B7)
Production Manager – Josh Skubel
Programmed By – Jacquire King (tracks: A1, A3 to A5, B9, B10)
Recorded By – Arnar Guðjónsson (tracks: A3, B6, B8), Lowell Reynolds (tracks: A1, A4, A5, B9, B10), Nate Pittsburgh Dickinson* (tracks: B7)
Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Organ, Written-By – Jökull Júlíusson
Written-By – Jónas Jónasson* (tracks: B8), Kristján Frá Djúpalæk (tracks: B8), Rubin Pollock (tracks: A3)