Johnny Cash - The Essential (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

The Essential Johnny Cash is a double LP compilation by Johnny Cash released as part of Sony's Essential series. It was compiled to commemorate Cash's 70th birthday.
The double album concentrates mainly on Cash's first 15 years as a recording artist with Sun Records and Columbia, contains only eight post-1970 selections, and no selections from Cash's work with Rick Rubin for American Recordings. Amongst the 36 tracks on the compilation are two songs that feature Cash prominently but never appeared on any of his albums. As a testimony to Cash's wide sphere of influence on country, rock, and other modern musics and his wide fan base, the liner notes feature testimonials and 70th birthday greetings from a wide array of artists – from friends and collaborators alike.

LP pressing on 2xLP 180-gram vinyl.


Yes, "Live At Folsom Prison" should be your first Cash purchase and the "American Recordings" series, though hit or miss, has a lot of heavy, genuinely moving late and posthumous cuts but let's face it, you also need a nice career overview and this is where it's at. Lotsa classics, many featuring the more lighthearted side of The Man In Black. Highlights: "Boy Named Sue", "I Walk The Line", "Five Feet High & Rising", "Ring of Fire", "It Ain't Me Babe" and "Jackson".

By: Hellaguru.

A1 Hey Porter
A2 Cry Cry Cry
A3 I Walk The Line
A4 Get Rhythm
A5 There You Go
A6 Ballad of a Teenage Queen
A7 Big River
A8 Guess Things Happen That Way
B1 All Over Again
B2 Don't Take Your Guns To Town
B3 Five Feet High and Rising
B4 The Rebel
B5 Tennessee Flat-Top Box
B6 I Still Miss Someone
B7 Ring of Fire

C1 The Ballad of Ira Hayes
C2 Orange Blossom Special
C3 It Ain't Me Babe
C4 The One On The Right
C5 Jackson (with June Carter)
C6 Fulsom Prison Blues (Live)
D1 Daddy Sang Bass
D2 Girl From The North Country (with Bob Dylan)
D3 A Boy Named Sue (Live)
D4 If I Were A Carpender
D5 Sunday Morning Coming Down
D6 Man in Black
D7 One Place At A Time

Catalogue Number: 8875150651

Record Label: Columbia Records / Sony Music