Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €34,00
Tax included.

Gilbert Scott-Heron (April 1, 1949 – May 27, 2011) was an American soul, jazz, poet, musician, and author, known primarily for his work as a spoken-word performer in the 1970s and 1980s who is now widely accredited with being one of the worlds first ever rap artists.

I'm New Here is the 13th and final studio album. It was released on February 8, 2010, by XL Recordings and was his first release of original music in 16 years, following a period of personal and legal troubles with drug addiction. The record was produced by XL owner Richard Russell, who was influenced by the 2009 self-titled debut LP of English band, The xx. I'm New Here is a post-industrial blues album, with spoken word folks interwoven with trip hop interludes, combining a perfect blend of old music and new music. 

I'm New Here received positive reviews from most critics and a remix of the album, titled We're New Here, was produced by the xx's Jamie xx and released by XL in 2011.

2xLP pressing Compilation, Reissue on Green and Pink Vinyl. 10th Anniversary Edition. featuring previously unheard material. A true 'must-have' for anyone into the life and times of Gil Scott-Heron...


If one is to look at the life of Gil Scott-Heron they would almost have to find inspiration in his story.  He started making music in the 1970s during an era in which racial tensions were still abound, and he offered his own politically driven spoken word pieces on the state of things in the United States.  After the 1970s though, Gil Scott-Heron largely faded away, having numerous run-ins with the law, and forming an addiction to cocaine.  All this is contributes to why I'm New Here ends up being such an outstanding album.
40 years after his first album, here is I'm New Here.  I'm New Here is aptly titled, as Gil Scott-Heron hadn't released an album since 1994's "Spirits".  I'm New Here is truly the start of a new chapter for Gil-Scott Heron; it's absolutely stunning, introspective look into the heart and soul of Gil-Scott Heron.  I'm New Here presents something that only someone who has been through so much could ever present.  Gil-Scott Heron opens up his wounds to show you exactly what is inside.
I'm New Here mixes a few different genres.  The opening and closing tracks are both spoken word, and much of the album is.  Yet a number of the songs on I'm New Here are also modern day bluesy tunes, mixed with electronic music.  Songs such as the incredibly haunting "Me and the Devil", utilize the very hip hop sound that Gil Scott-Heron helped to pioneer decades ago.
I'm New Here is a stunning comeback, and a haunting, sorrowful, but yet ultimately inspirational look into the soul of Gil Scott-Heron.  It ends up not only being perhaps the greatest moment of his career, but it is also one of the very best albums of 2010. Absolutely deep, dark, and unforgettable.

By: Biggest_Jacob

A1 On Coming From A Broken Home (Part 1)
A2 Me and The Devil
A3 I'm New Here
A4 Your Soul and Mine
A5 Parents (Interlude)
A6 I'll Take Care of You 
A7 Being Blessed (Interlude)
B1 Where Did The Night Go
B2 I Was Guided (Interlude)
B3 New York Is Killing Me
B4 Certain Things (Interlude)
B5 Running
B6 The Crutch
B7 I've Been Me (Ingterlude)
B8 On Coming From A Broken Home (Part 2)
C1 Handsome Johnny
C2 King Henry IV
C3 Piano Player (Interlude)
C4 Home Is Where The Hatred Is
C5 Winter (Interlude)
D1 Winter In America
D2 Jazz (Interlude)
D3 Is That Jazz
D4 A Place To Go (Interlude)
D5 My Cloud

Catalogue Number:  XL1005LP
Record Label: XL Recordings.