Frank Black - Teenager Of The Year (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €25,00
Tax included.

Teenager of the Year is the second solo studio album by American musician Frank Black (ex-Pixies). The album was released in 1994 by 4AD in the United Kingdom and Elektra Records in the United States. It was co-produced by former Pere Ubu member Eric Drew Feldman, who also played keyboards on the album. Teenager also features work by several backing musicians, including Black's Pixies bandmate Joey Santiago. 

Although not originally well-received, the record is now widely praised by both critics and fans. This album is often cited as the high-point of Francis' post-Pixies catalogue and was named on Pitchfork's "Top 100 Albums of the 1990s".

LP repressing on 2xLP 180-gram vinyl. 

*RSD2019 2xLP Exclusive on WHITE vinyl*

It sounds like the Pixies, not as energetic. Actually I find it to be better than the two last Pixies albums, its that good. It combines surf rock guitars with some charismatic vocals from Francis. It has its own great moments like "I want to live on abstract pain", "calistan", "headache", "freedom rock", "two reelers" and "fazer eyes". The songs are short and go straight to the point, but it does have something lacking when it comes to consistency. Still overall a really fun album that should be checked out by all Pixies fans, if you haven't already.

By: Trentall.

A1 Whatever Happened to Pong?
A2 Thalassocracy
A3 (I Want To Live On An) Abstract Plain
A4 Calistan
A5 The Vanishing Spies
A6 Speedy Marie
B1 Headache
B2 Sir Rockaby
B3 Freedom Rock
B4 Two Reelers

B5 Fiddle Riddle
C1 Ole Mulholland
C2 Fazer Eyes
C3 I Could Stay Here Forever
C4 The Hostess with the Mostest
C5 Superabound
D1 Big Red
D2 Space Is Gonna Do Me Good
D3 White Noise Maker
D4 Pure Denizen of the Citizens Band
D5 Bad, Wicked World
D6 Pie In The Sky

Catalogue Number: DAD4009LPE

Record Label: 4AD

Format: Limited Edition White Vinyl / RSD2019 Exclusive / Limited to 4500 copies