David Bowie - Hunky Dory (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Hunky Dory is the fourth studio album by English musician David Bowie. Released on 17 December 1971, it was his first album for RCA Records, which would be his label for the next decade. It was recorded in mid-1971 at Trident Studios in London and featured Rick Wakeman on piano, and the musicians who would later become known as the Spiders from Mars: Mick Ronson, Trever Bolder and Mick Woodmansey. The cover artwork, photographed by Brian Ward in monochrome and recoloured by Terry Pastor, was influenced by Lauren Bacall and Greta Garbo. The title, an English slang term meaning that everything is right in the world, was suggested to Bowie by Bob Grace of the music publisher Chrysalis.

LP pressing on 180-gram vinyl.


The first of Bowie's monumental classics.  Although I will forever associate Hunky Dory with Bowie's subsequent Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust, the albums are really quite different.  Hunky Dory is clearly Bowie's attempt at a "singer-songwriter" album, replete with quaint story-songs and piano-driven instrumentals.  And what an attempt!  The music on Hunky Dory is also a bit more varied in both sound and quality than the consistently-sublime glam rock of Ziggy Stardust.  Here there are a few tracks that are merely great ("Kooks", "Fill Your Heart"), as well as several undeniable classics that hold their own against anything Bowie has done ("Life on Mars", "Changes").  If I want Bowie's immense talent to blow me away I reach for Ziggy Stardust; if I want to be pleasantly comforted by that talent I reach for Hunky Dory.

By: Walter12

A1 Changes
A2 Oh! You Pretty Things
A3 Eight Line Poem
A4 Life on Mars?
A5 Kooks
A6 Quicksand
B1 Fill Your Heart
B2 Andy Warhol
B3 Song For Bob Dylan
B4 Queen Bitch
B5 The Bewlay Brothers

Catalogue Number:  0825646289448

Record Label: Parlophone / Warner