Various Artists - Super Breaks: Essential Funk, Soul And Jazz Samples And Break Beats (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Without any doubt this is a fine compilation of some truly outstanding tracks, if you've got your funk on then you will be well served by most of what's on offer here. Rock creek park (in particular) is a soul-funk anthem of legendary status, and the detroit emeralds (baby let me take you) are a much underrated outfit capable of superbly laid back grooves and pleasing ,mellow vocals. I only missed out giving a 5 star rating simply because this kind of compilation (nearly!) always has to compromise somewhere-filler this baby!-for whatever reason..


This is a really good collection of break beat stuff from the Ace/BGP label. This is not an album I play right through, that isn't the reason that I bought it. The reason for my purchase though was to get Camille Yarborough's "Take Yo' Praise" and S.O.U.L.'s "Burning Spear" which can be hard to find. There are tons of break beat compilations out there and this is definitely one of the best.

By: MH1000

A1 Soul Children - Intro (Spoken Word)
A2 Isaac Hayes - Ike's Mood
A3 Jackie Wilson - Light My Fire
A4 Syl Johnson - Different Strokes
A5 The Counts - Thinking Single
A6 The Emotions - Blind Alley
B1 Camille Yarbrough - Take Yo' Praise
B2 Linda Lyndell - What A Man
B3 Lowell Fulson - Tramp
B4 Googie Rene Combo - Smokey Joe's La La
B5 Jean Jacques Perrey - E.V.A.
C1 The Blackbyrds - Rock Creek Park
C2 Fatback Band - Got To Learn How To Dance
C3 Pleasure - Bouncy Lady
C4 Joe Simon - Drowning In The Sea Of Love
D1 Cannonball Adderley - Walk Tall
D2 S.O.U.L. - Burning Spear
D3 The Otis And Carla Band - Tramp (Instrumental)
D4 The Pazant Bros - Chick A Boom
D5 The Detroit Emeralds - Baby Let Me Take You (In My Arms)

Catalogue Number: BGP2 126

Record Label: Ace