Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Vinyl LP repressing of this 1992 album, released to coincide with the album's 20th Anniversary. Pi**ed off and angry is the best way to describe Rage Against the Machine's first album. A fierce mix of hip-hop, punk & heavy rock exploded all over the music scene in 1992. At first sight an unlikely band; Tom Morello, a nerdy guitar hero who played his guitar like a DJ, political activist Zack de la Rocha who spitted out his lyrics with a vengeance. Together with Brad Wilk on drums and Tim C. on bass they produced one of the most angry records of 90's. The album even contained, dare we say it, hit singles like 'Killing in the name of' and 'Bullet in the head'. Put the needle on the record and get blown away (again)!


Amazing rap metal release, by far the best i have heard. Lyrically it contains heavily political themes, but either the lyrics are too deep for me to understand them or they are badly writen, either way i dont care much for them. Instrumentally though, this album is a completly different story. The rapping is pretty aggressive yet enjoyable to listen to (some parts are straight funky stuff), and even though there is some screming at times it fits well with the sort of strong emotions the songs deal about. The guitars are incredible, both in terms of enjoyability and innovation, even more amazing considering this level of experimentation was done in the early 90's and that this release actualy was quite commercial. Very good riffing and solos, with a nice variety. The bass and drumming are great on their own as well and they provide enough glue to stick all of it together neatly, both of them are really creative in their playing and the mix does a nice job in showing what they are doing as well. In terms of sound it has has been described as hardcore punk combined with hip hop rather than metal and i do tend to agree with this. The most amazing stuff about the release is that even though the songs are all similar (except perhaps settle for nothing, which is by far the worst song and only one which i dont fully enjoy) they still are able to stand out great on their own and at least to me the album entertains me greatly from start to finish. Overal it is an amazing album both in terms of innovation and creativity, and despite its minor flaws i could not give it less than a perfect score.

By: Threntall

A1 Bombtrack
A2 Killing In The Name
A3 Take The Power Back
A4 Settle For Nothing
A5 Bullet In The Head
B1 Know Your Enemy
B2 Wake Up
B3 Fistful Of Steel
B4 Township Rebellion
B5 Freedom

Catalogue Number: 88875111751

Record Label: Sony