Various Artists - Garden State (Music From The Motion Picture) (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

Garden State is a 2004 comedy-drama film written and directed by Zach Braff and starring Natalie Portman, Peter Sarsgaard, Ian Holm and Braff himself. The film centers on Andrew Largeman (Braff), a 26-year-old actor/waiter who returns to his hometown in New Jersey after his mother dies. Braff based the film on his real life experiences. Garden State was well received and has garnered a cult following. The music that accompanied the film was hand-picked by Zach Braff. Commenting on the selections, Braff said that 'Essentially, I made a mix CD with all of the music that I felt was scoring my life at the time I was writing the screenplay'. The music in the film features a number of Indie Rock artists, notably The Shins. In an early scene, Sam passes Andrew a headset which is playing the song 'New Slang' by The Shins as she says 'You gotta hear this one song it'll change your life; I swear'. Writer, actor and director Zack Braff was awarded a Grammy Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack for a Motion Picture for his work on the soundtrack album. The album has sold over 1.3 million copies and has been certified as platinum by the RIAA. Now, 10 years after the original release, Garden State is available for the first time on vinyl. One of the two beautiful printed inner sleeves includes a print of a hand-written note from Braff, which he wrote especially for the 2014 vinyl release of the soundtrack.


I don't typically rate compilations and pure soundtracks (no film score) with five stars
but when one impacts me the way that Garden State's does, I have to make exceptions. This is a soundtrack that I listen to all the time because I love the way that it makes me feel. It's got a sense of hopeful melancholia to it and much like Life Is Strange's OST (which I often compare to this even though they aren't entirely similar) the music makes me "feel like I'm a hipster". Unlike a lot of people who tend to give the word hipster a negative connotation, I genuinely love that about this film.

I love how the music speaks to me as if I'm a person who's out on his own in a very big world trying to find where he belongs. A lot of these feelings naturally stem from each song's connotation within the film itself, but it's mainly the moody tone of the music, and the suggestive song titles like "In the Waiting Line" or "The Only Living Boy in New York" which gives me this sense of yearning and then ultimately, acceptance that no matter how bad things are, every thing's going to be ok.

You might have to find your infinite ditch to scream into, but in the end, you'll make it through whatever hardships are thrown your way. One of My Favorite Albums + Film Scores!

By: Volgan

A1 Coldplay– Don't Panic
A2 The Shins– Caring Is Creepy
A3 Zero 7– In The Waiting Line
A4 The Shins– New Slang
B1 Colin Hay– I Just Don't Think I'll Get Over You
B2 Cary Brothers– Blue Eyes
B3 Remy Zero– Fair
C1 Nick Drake– One Of These Things First
C2 Thievery Corporation– Lebanese Blonde
C3 Simon & Garfunkel– The Only Living Boy In New York
D1 Iron And Wine– Such Great Heights
D2 Frou Frou– Let Go
D3 Bonnie Somerville– Winding Road


- 180 gram audiophile vinyl
- Printed innersleeves
- 10 year anniversary edition
- Available on vinyl for the first time!