Various Artists - Dazed And Confused - Soundtrack (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €43,00
Tax included.

Dazed and Confused is a 1993 American coming-of-age comedy film written and directed by Richard Linklater. The film features a large ensemble cast of actors who would later become stars, including Jason London, Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Cole Hauser, Parker Posey, Adam Goldberg, Matthew McConaughey, Nicky Katt, Joey Lauren Adams and Rory Cochrane. The plot follows different groups of Texas teenagers during the last day of school in 1976. Richard Linklater has got a good reputation when it comes to music in film, after all, he directed the fantastic 'School of Rock'. Before that, in fact, 22 years ago he also directed 'Dazed and Confused', featuring Alice Cooper, ZZ Top, War, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Black Sabbath.
Limited Edition Purple Translucent Vinyl.

This is one of my favourite movies of the 90s, so it goes without saying that I greatly enjoy the soundtrack. When this movie came out, it was a life altering event for my friends and I. I'd only recently discovered the joys of weed, booze, chicks, and partying, and to see such activity reflected on the big screen seemed to resonate profoundly with my peer group and I. In many ways it was as if we were living this movie twenty years later, but I digress...

This is a fine soundtrack which features a great selection of material from that heady decade. Naturally, everyone has their own idea of which songs would make the best selections for such a period soundtrack, but this is a surprisingly well chosen bunch of tracks. There's only a couple of clunkers, namely "Love Hurts", and "Cherry Bomb", although the former is something of a classic even if it turns my stomach to hear it. Sadly there's no funk or soul to be found, but obviously the film's focus is a bunch of long-haired rockers, so this stands to reason. Some Floyd or Zeppelin seems to have been in order, but most likely would have been prohibitively expensive to acquire the rights.

By:  DeadlyBreakfast

A1 Rick Derringer– Rock And Roll Hoochie Koo
A2 Foghat– Slow Ride
A3 Alice Cooper– Schools Out
A4 Black Oak Arkansas– Jim Dandy
A5 ZZ Top– Tush
B1 Nazareth– Love Hurts
B2 Ted Nugent– Stranglehold
B3 The Runaways– Cherrybomb
C1 The Sweet– Fox on the Run
C2 War– Low Rider
C3 Lynyrd Skynyrd– Tuesday’s Gone
D1 Deep Purple– Highway Star
D2 Kiss– Rock and Roll All Night
D3 Black Sabbath– Paranoid


Record Label:  The Medicine Label

Catalogue Number:  RCV1 24533