Various Artists - Deutsche Elektronische Musik Volume 4 (3xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €39,00
Tax included.

This is the new instalment of Soul Jazz Records’ ground-breaking Deutsche Elektronische Musik series, ‘A near-definitive guide to some of the world's most extraordinary music’ (The Guardian). This latest edition features many of the classic German electronic and Krautrock groups from the 1970s & 80s – including Can, Amon Duul II, Harmonia, Conrad Schnitzler, Agitiation Free, Roedelius – as well as a host of lesser known artists such as Dzyan, Klauss Weiss, Gruppe Between and many more.

Deutsche Elektronische rarities unearthed on the album include Kalacakra (whose fan-base included the great Moondog!) and their superb ‘Nearby Shiras,’ taken from their super-rare spiritual/psychedelic private press concept album Crawling to Lhasa, from 1972. Deutsche Elektronische 4 includes a wealth of German electronic experimental artists – the seminal pioneering group Harmonia (Roedelius, Moebius and Michael Rother), avant-garde guru Conrad Schnitzler as well as lesser known synthetic artists such as Klauss Weiss, Deutsche Wertarbeit, E.M.A.K. (Electronische Musik Aus Koln), Gunter Schickert and others.

Finally, the album also features an array of heavy and progressive German cosmic rock groups – Dzyan, Virus and the amazing Turkish/German tripped out sound of Alex’s ‘Patella Black’, recorded at Can’s Inner Space in 1973, produced by Holger Czukay and Jackie Liebezeit. Deutsche Elektronische 4 comes with extensive newly commissioned sleevenotes by David Stubbs, author of the seminal books ‘Future Days: Krautrock and the building of Modern Germany’, ‘Mars By 1980: The story of Electronic Music’, and ‘Krautrock: Cosmic Rock and its Legacy’.

This album comes as a heavyweight triple vinyl edition with full colour inner sleeves, as well as a deluxe double CD edition with outsize booklet and slipcase. Both formats include full liner notes and extensive rare photography.


After the cryptic "That's all folks!" on the front cover of Volume 3, I thought it was the end of Soul Jazz Records' exploration of Deutsche Kosmische Musik but they're back with a fourth installment. The cover is fabulous and it comes as a triple vinyl package with extensive sleevenotes.  Lots of big names amongst lesser known acts, it's a heady mix of everything that makes the music so enduring - electronic, progressive, ambient, psychedelia, etc. As with the other three volumes, there's no filler and even long standing Krautrock aficionados will probably find something new here. The audio quality is first rate and it sounds best listened through a decent set of headphones or with the volume turned up LOUD if listening through speakers! The sleeve contains informative and well researched notes alongside archive photos. The combined playing time is a generous 1 hour & 42 minutes which is very good value for money.


A1 Alex - Patella Black
A2 Klaus Weiss - Driving Sequences
A3 Can - I'm So Green
A4 Agitation Free - Laila, Part II
B1 Deutsche Wertarbeit - Guten Abend, Leute
B2 Amon Düül II - Wolf City
B3 Michael Rother - Flammende Herzen
B4 Klaus Weiss - Pink Sails
C1 Virus - My Strand-Eyed Girl
C2 Conrad Schnitzler - Ballet Statique
C3 Kalacakra - Nearby Shiras
D1 EMAK Tanz - In Den Himmel
D2 Et Cetera - Mellodrama 2a
D3 Between - Triumphzug Kaiser Maximilian I
D4 Hans-Joachim Roedelius - Halmharfe
E1 Dzyan - Dragonsong
E2 Harmonia - Deluxe (Immer Wieder)
F1 Günter Schickert - Suleika
F2 Witthüser & Westrupp - Schopfung

Soul Jazz Records
Notes on two of the inner sleeves.

Download code sticker attached to inner sleeve for record one.