Various Artists - Electronic (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Including an amazing 30 tracks, and exclusively on vinyl, ‘Electronic’ salutes the very best in Synth Pop and Dance. Represented are the pioneering 70s classics, through to the explosion of electronic pop in the early 80s and on to an ever-sophisticated blending of different music genres with electronic beats. Early 80s synth romanticism is well represented by The Human League, Japan, Visage, Tears For Fears, Soft Cell, Ultravox and Heaven 17 - with less mainstream classics from OMD, Simple Minds, The Cure, Devo, Martha & The Muffins and The Passions. The track that reshaped dance music forever - ‘I Feel Love’ by Donna Summer - sounds as relevant today as it did in 1977 and is joined by eclectic synth hits from Herbie Hancock, Malcolm McLaren, and The Rock Steady Crew. Electronic’ includes some of the best pure-pop anthems of all time from The Buggles, Kim Wilde, Falco and Giorgio Moroder & Philip Oakey alongside the sophisticated electro-pop of Joe Jackson, Jan Hammer, Yello and Harold Faltermeyer. ‘Electronic’ is an essential album for any music lover’s vinyl collection.


I wasn't sure if there was any benefit in buying an electronic album on vinyl over a CD or mp3 so bought this to find out. Firstly there are some fantastic tracks on this album, some of which I haven't heard in years and others I hadn't heard before. Secondly I am very impressed at the sound quality of this album, probably helped by splitting the tracks over 4 sides. The dynamics of the music are amazing. There are times that you can almost hear the sound of the player's finger's pressing down on the keys of the keyboard, which you'll understand if you've played a keyboard before. Some tracks are better than others but I'd put that down to the actual production than it being on vinyl. The only downside for me is that I Feel Love, which I believe is the best dance track ever created, isn't the full version. Very impressed and has allowed me to look into other electronic albums where I wouldn't have before

By: Derek G

A1 The Human League Love Action (I Believe In Love)
A2 Japan Quiet Life
A3 Visage Fade To Grey
A4 Tears for Fears Mad World
A5 The Cure The Walk
A6 Devo Whip It
A7 Soft Cell Say Hello, Wave Goodbye
B1 Donna Summer I Feel Love
B2 Harold Faltermeyer Axel F
B3 Herbie Hancock Rockit
B4 Yello The Race
B5 Landscape Einstein A Go-Go
B6 Malcolm McLaren Buffalo Gals
B7 Rock Steady Crew (Hey You) The Rock Steady Crew
B8 Jan Hammer Crockett's Theme
C1 Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark Enola Gay
C2 Heaven 17 Temptation
C3 Howard Jones New Song
C4 A Flock Of Seagulls Wishing (If I Had A Photograph Of You)
C5 Ultravox Hymn
C6 Furniture Brilliant Mind
C7 Simple Minds Glittering Prize
D1 Buggles Video Killed The Radio Star
D2 Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder Together In Electric Dreams
D3 Kim Wilde Kids In America
D4 Altered Images Don't Talk To Me About Love
D5 Falco Rock Me Amadeus
D6 Joe Jackson Steppin' Out
D7 Martha And The Muffins Echo Beach
D8 The Passions I'm In Love With A German Film Star

Catalogue Number: 5388157

Record Label: Sony