Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

This is the debut studio album by the American hip hop duo Run The Jewels, which consists of Killer Mike and EI-P. The album was released in 2013 through Fool's Gold Records to critical acclaim. It features contributions from Big Boi and Prince Paul among others. This version includes a bonus 12" record.


Last year my 2 favorite hip hop albums were released by El-P and Killer Mike (and both produced by El-P). So seeing them team up once again is just a blessing. These 2 are just some of the best rappers going around today, and even if both are veterans, it feels like they are in their prime now. What's different from Run the Jewels and last year's R.A.P. Music is that they both share the microphone, acting as one of the most fericious duos since Method Man and Redman teamed up for Blackout. This album is really crazy for numerous reasons, but one of them is definitely just how good these two sound together. Trading off rhymes, it's like one has the outrap the other constantly, and well they definitely do it to their best. Simply put, they be killing it on each verse. El-P is producing so you can aspect that chaotic bomb-squad ish boom bap, I feel that this album sounds just in between their respective efforts from last year. Not quite as experimental as El-P's Cancer 4 Cure, but a little less safe than R.A.P. Music as it seems to throw out the southern influence completely. It seems that Killer Mike was born to rap on El-P beats, his angryish flow is just perfect for this type of chaos. The album is short barely clocking at 33 minutes, but it's filled with 10 quality tracks and there's no resting moment in there. So far I have to say it's the best hip hop album of the year, it does everything right and it's so damn good. El-P is getting quite reliable, hell I even have to rank him as the best producer in hip hop right now even dethroning my precious Madlib, El-P is just that good (plus Madlib hasn't been so active, so we'll see with future projects). There's no reason to skip on this (unless your favorite rapper is Drake), it's available as a free download, so everyone should be bumping this all summer round.

By: diction

A1 Run The Jewels
A2 Banana Clipper
A3 36" Chain
A5 Sea Legs
B1 Job Well Done
B2 No Come Down
B3 Get It
B4 Twin Hype Bac
B5 A Christmas Fucking Miracle

Bonus 12''
C1 Pew Pew Pew
C2 Sea Legs (Dave Sitek Remix)
C3 36" Chain (BSBD Remix)
D1 Pew Pew Pew (Instrumental)
D2 Sea Legs (Dave Sitek Remix) (Instrumental)
D3 36" Chain (BSBD Remix) (Instrumental)

Record Label : BIG DADA

Cat No: 5021392876122