Various Artists - Peaky Blinders Soundtrack (3xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

The massively popular BBC drama series 'Peaky Blinders' is known for its dark and dramatic soundtrack, acting as a window into the mind of Tommy Shelby - a tortured ex-soldier who suffers from PTSD after fighting in the trenches during World War One. It's not just the low tones of Nick Cave's vocals in the opening theme tune that have become synonymous with the Birmingham-based flagship gangster drama centred around Tommy Shelby, his family and their somewhat dubious business practices. Alongside the atmospheric opener, all the songs featured in the show have been painstakingly chosen to reflect the feel of the programme (the violence, the grit, AND the glamour), which was inspired by a real group of gangsters in post WW1 Birmingham. Exclusively featured on the album are Jehnny Beth's 'I'm the Man' and Anna Calvi's series 5 score, 'You're Not God', along with Richard Hawley's (Bob Dylan) 'Ballad of a Thin Man' on CD and vinyl for the first time. The album is completed by songs from Nick Cave himself, Arctic Monkeys, The White Stripes, Royal Blood, The Last Shadow Puppets, Queens of the Stone Age, Black Sabbath, David Bowie, Laura Marling, and Foals, amongst others.

If you're a fan of the Peaky Blinders tv series, this is a must have, since the musical soundtrack, both original score and tracks by the likes of Nick Cave, Radiohead and PJ Harvey, is a major part of its impact and success. It was a brilliant and confident move to surround the action with music not of the times, mainly the 1920s, except where it's part of the action, eg in a night club. You can listen to the nearly 40 tracks and picture the scenes or moments they occur in the episodes, helped along by short clips of some characters' lines. Or you can just enjoy this amazing mix of dramatic, evocative tracks with no reference to the Peakies at all!

Reviewed By: Daisy

A1 Dialogue
A2 Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Red Right Hand
A3 The White Stripes - St. James Infirmary Blues
A4 Dialogue
A5 Dialogue
A6 Dan Auerbach - The Prowl
A7 Dialogue
A8 Jack White - Love Is Blindness
A9 PJ Harvey - To Bring You My Love
B1 Dialogue
B2 Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - River Styx
B3 Paul Hartnoll - Post Irish Meeting
B4 PJ Harvey - Red Right Hand
B5 Laura Marling - What He Wrote
B6 Dialogue
B7 Royal Blood - Come On Over
B8 Arctic Monkeys - Do I Wanna Know?
C1 Dialogue
C2 Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Breathless
C3 Radiohead - You And Whose Army?
C4 Dialogue
C5 PJ Harvey - This Is Love
C6 Dickon Hinchliffe - Sons
C7 Dialogue
C8 Queens Of The Stone Age - Burn The Witch
C9 The Last Shadow Puppets - Bad Habits
C10 David Bowie - Lazarus
D1 Dialogue
D2 Savages - Adore
D3 Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - The Mercy Seat (Live From KCRW)
D4 Rachel Unthank & The Winterset - I Wish
D5 Antony Genn - Ballad Of Polly Gray
D6 Dialogue
D7 Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes - Devil Inside Me
E1 Foals - Snake Oil
E2 Dialogue
E3 Radiohead - Pyramid Song
E4 Laura Marling - A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
E5 Dialogue
E6 Black Sabbath - The Wizard
E7 Anna Calvi - Papi Pacify
F1 Joy Division - Atmosphere
F2 Dialogue
F3 Anna Calvi - You're Not God
F4 Dialogue
F5 Jehnny Beth - I'm The Man
F6 Idles - Never Fight A Man With A Perm
F7 Dialogue
F8 Richard Hawley - Ballad Of A Thin Man


Cat No:    0815650

Record Label : Universal