Doves - Lost Souls (2 x LP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Lost Souls is the debut album by Doves. Originally released in 2000 the album was nominated for a Mercury Prize of that year. The album contained three UK top 40 singles ‘The Cedar Room’, ‘Catch The Sun’ and ‘The Man Who Told Everything’. The Williams brothers and their mate Jim Goodwin first had a hit with the disco-charged "Ain't No Love (Ain't No Use)", but disillusionment with the Manchester scene set in, so they picked up guitars and formed Doves--a band determined to infuse raw emotion into music. From instrumental opener "Firesuite"--which showcases their rumbling, restrained guitar firepower--to the tumbling acoustic shanty "Sea Song", the Latin guitar lines of "The Man Who Told Everything", the balmy Technique-era New Order rocker "Catch The Sun" and the aqueous, soaring "Rise", none of the album's 11 tracks bear any real resemblance to each other. Doves have produced an outstanding debut album in Lost Souls, alternately melancholy and uplifting, sparkling darkly with charged atmospherics.

180 gram black vinyl + download voucher.

This is a great record joining the dots between psychedelia,the indie rock of their native manchester and the epic rock of bands like u2 .

So many good songs here , check out that piano on the rolling "here it comes" or the simple chord structures that stick in your head from "break me gently" and "sea song" . "rise" builds from a simple strum into a really beautiful production full of effects and deep sounds . "melody calls" sees the group match the shambling pop ethic of the la's perfectly while "catch the sun" (with a melody radiohead would have loved to have ) and the glum "man who told everything" with its twinkling guitars pack a fair melodic punch . It all builds up to the albums centre piece "the cedar room" whos build up is akin to a ship slowly breaking through ice before breaking free on the back of its stout drums, fxd guitars and dark chorus. If pushed i slightly prefer the follow up "the last broadcast" but here the doves proved themselves as a bright new talent on the UK music scene and great songwriters . Only the rather dull title track and the unnecessary closer really marr the record at all

By: Garfieldacres

A1 Firesuite
A2 Here It Comes
A3 Break Me Gently
B4 Sea Song
B5 Rise
B6 Lost Souls
C7 Melody Calls
C8 Catch The Sun
C9 The Man Who Told Everything
D10 The Cedar Room
D11 Reprise
D12 A House

Record Label: Heavenly

Catalogue No: 0856866