Primal Scream - Screamadelica (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

'Screamadelica' is the third studio album by Scottish rock band Primal Scream, released on 23 September 1991. 'Screamadelica' was their first album to become a commercial success and it pushed the band firmly into the limelight, winning them the Mercury Music Prize in 1992.  The release of this seminal album which fused together acid house, psychedelic soul and good ole rock n’ roll. This is the album that elevated Primal Scream onto a mainstream level and became the soundtrack to our lives for a period of time and with good reason.

Primal Scream enlisted the talents of a few producers for this record including former Rolling Stones producer Jimmy Miller and Alex Patterson of the Orb. However, it was DJ Andrew Weatherall who helped the band break free of the rock structures with the use of a a sampler and an open mind and ended up producing a great chunk of the record. In singer Bobby Gillespie’s words, “…using drum loops, writing songs to drum loops. Before that we would sit with electric guitars and try and write a chord sequence in the melody, a very traditional way of writing songs. But when we started working with drum loops, the sampler and the keyboard it just opened everything up to us. We started to write and think in a totally different way.”

Despite merging different musical styles together and working with an array of producers, the band managed to create an album that flowed as a piece. Guitarist Andrew Innes remembers sequencing the record, “I thought I’d run it like a weekend. Like you’re going out, you put on ‘Movin’ On Up’ on, and that’s your going-out record on a Friday night when you’re having a shave, you’re getting ready: you’re going to have a fucking weekend so you stick that song on. And then in the middle it’s the real trippy, psychedelic stuff, so that’s when your head’s full of stuff and you’re just in the middle of the dancefloor. And then ‘Shine Like Stars’ is like a proper comedown. I thought, ‘I’ve got to run it like how we are.’


Screamadelica takes you to a not so distant past where every kid in Manchester was doing E and shaking ass all night. It's more than just a dance album though, it's the best fucking dance album ever! the instruments and samples it layers in there just concrete the insanity that Billy Gillespie wants you to remember for ever and ever. And its those subtle moments that just build on this muthafucka like an exactoknife. The crazy gospel breakdown of "Movin' On Up", moving to the new-wave acid trip that is "Slip Inside This House", and then the overbuilding R&B of "Don't Fight It, Feel It". Those first three tracks are enough to make this album perhaps the most diverse ever. I remember when I first bought it, I couldn't stop listening to it. I remember listening to "Come Together" on an airplane as I flew in to Florida, and playing the minimalist pleasure of "Higher Than The Sun" or the Stones-esque ballad of "Damaged" every day on that trip. It takes you back to a time that takes you back to another time (nineties dance music that pays serious homage to the sixties - namely The Stones and The Family Stone, as well as the Brian Wilson freak dream that is "Inner Flight") and pays you sentimentality that you truly cannot place where it's coming from. But if you ever find yourself in a slump, or in this situation, a funk, then all you gotta do is play the likes of "Loaded" and dance the night away, and the rest of the second half will do the calming down for you

By: Renbird

A1 Movin' On Up
A2 Slip Inside This House
A3 Don't Fight It, Feel It
B1 Higher Than The Sun
B2 Inner Flight
B3 Come Together
C1 Loaded
C2 Damaged
C3 I'm Comin' Down
D1 Higher Than The Sun (A Dub Symphony In Two Parts)
D2 Shine Like Stars

Record Label: Sony / Creation

Catalogue No: 88875138721