Slipknot - Iowa (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €45,00
Tax included.

Iowa is the second studio album by the American heavy metal band Slipknot. Released by Roadrunner Records on August 28, 2001, it was produced by Ross Robinson and Slipknot. The title derives from the band's home state, Iowa, which members have stated is one of their greatest sources of inspiration. With much anticipation for the album following the success of their 1999 self-titled debut, pressures on the band were high. Their relationships with each other suffered and this was later described as the darkest time of their career.[4] It was also the first full album to feature guitarist Jim Root after only appearing on two songs from their previous album. Despite troubles within the band and with Iowa's development, Slipknot promoted it for almost a year.


the one where slipknot genuinely start coming into their own. corey sounds angrier, joey's drumming is even more hectic, the songs are weirder, and most importantly, the guitars actually sound organic! everything just feels darker, not only compared to their first effort, but also compared to everyone else's releases at the time. things are bleak, and for good reason. what was an awful time for the band translates into the music, resulting in an uneasy, but great listen. though the album can be hit or miss (the raw furor contained in the 66 minute runtime can end up being tiring after a while, especially the 15 minute closer), the hits are way more abundant, especially album highlight The Heretic Anthem, a four minute onslaught that boils down to slipknot reminding everyone just how against the herd they are (as can be heard in the hook: "If you're 555, I'm 666."). is it a classic like people preach it is? debatable. is it good? fuck yes. is it worth a listen? i'd say so.

By: Acid Drive

A1 (515)
A2 People = Shit
A3 Disasterpiece
A4 My Plague
A5 Everything Ends
B6 The Heretic Anthem
B7 Gently
B8 Left Behind
B9 The Shape
C10 I Am Hated
C11 Skin Ticket
C12 New Abortion
C13 Metabolic
D14 Iowa

2022 release on translucent green vinyl.