Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Californication is the seventh studio album by American rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers. It was released on June 8, 1999, on Warner Bros. Records and was produced by Rick Rubin. Californication marked the return of John Frusciante, who had previously appeared on Mother's Milk and Blood Sugar Sex Magik, to replace Dave Navarro as the band's guitarist. Frusciante's return was credited with changing the band's sound altogether, producing a notable shift in style from the music recorded with Navarro. The album's subject material incorporated various sexual innuendos commonly associated with the band, but also contained more varied themes than previous outings, including death, contemplations of suicide, California, drugs, globalization, and travel.

As the child of middle class boomer parents, most of my memories of music as a kid are solely restricted to classic rock radio stations, so I never really got exposed to anything released after about 1985 until I was a teenager. I could certainly complain about this stunting the development of my musical taste, but I can at least be happy that I was never burned out on any good, modern rock tracks that got too much exposure on the radio. As such, "Scar Tissue", easily the best song on the album, really blew me away the first time I heard it. The warm, mellow guitar lines and Kiedis' subdued singing create a wonderful, mature, introspective atmosphere (something I would never have guessed it was possible for RHCP). The lyrics, about loneliness and addiction, are almost touching for someone who's dealt with both. The following track, "Otherside", continues the lyrical focus on drug use but with much more energetic instrumentation (the guitar solo at the end is quickly becoming one of my favorite "minimalist" solos). This introspection, of course, couldn't last forever, because we're talking about the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and thus they felt it necessary to add some really corny rap-funk-metal songs like the opener. This is definitely not an album that you should listen to through and through every time, but at least the highlights really are highlights.

By: Dzhakh

A1 Around The World
A2 Parallel Universe
A3 Scar Tissue
A4 Otherside
B1 Get On Top
B2 Californication
B3 Easily
C1 Porcelain
C2 Emit Remmus
C3 I Like Dirt
C4 This Velvet Glove
D1 Savior 4:52
D2 Purple Stain
D3 Right On Time
D4 Road Trippin'

Repress under the new 2019 Warner Records banner.