Muse - Black Holes And Revelations (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €25,00
Tax included.

Limited Edition vinyl LP pressing of the 2006 release by this British rock trio, who finally achieved international stardom with their 2003 album, Black Holes and Revelations is the fourth studio album by English rock band Muse. It was released in 2006 through Muse's Helium-3 imprint and Warner Bros. Records. It was recorded over four months in New York and southern France, and saw the band take a more active role in production.

Black Holes and Revelations saw a change in style for Muse, with influences including Depeche Mode, Millionaire, Lightning Bolt, Sly and the Family Stone, and music from southern Italy. Like their previous albums, it features political and dystopian undertones, with lyrics covering topics such as political corruption, alien invasion, revolution, and New World Order conspiracies, as well as more conventional love songs.

Black Holes and Revelations received positive reviews and appeared on many year-end lists. It received a Mercury Prize nomination and later appeared in the 2007 version of 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. Singles "Supermassive Black Hole" and "Knights of Cydonia" were both UK top-10 hits, while "Starlight", "Map of the Problematique", and "Invincible" all charted within the top 25.


I first heard "Supermassive Black Hole" a few weeks before the album was released and was horrified at what had happened to one of my favourite, mainstream bands. I thought they had turned into a cheesey, poppy act. This song in particular reminded me =of something Cameo might have done in the 80's. Thankfully, the rest of the album isn't like this. "Supermassive Black Hole" suffers from lead single disease, in that it doesn't sound anything like the rest of the album. The remaining 10 tracks of "Black Holes and Revelations" are scathing, unapologetic, and thinly veiled attacks at Tony Blair and George W. Bush, attacking them with a fervour and even going as far as to condemn them to a eternity in hell in the first track, "Take a Bow." While lyrically the album is strong, at times it seems the quality of the lyrics compromised the quality of the music itself. Overall its a very satisfying album that I find myself returning to again and again.

By: JoeRo628

A1 Take A Bow
A2 Starlight
A3 Supermassive Black Hole
A4 Map Of The Problematique
A5 Soldier's Poem
A6 Invincible
B1 Assassin
B2 Exo-Politics
B3 City Of Delusion
B4 Hoodoo
B5 Knights Of Cydonia

Catalogue No: 0825646350919

Record Label: Warner / Helium 3