Thug Life - Volume 1 (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

Thug Life: Volume 1 is the only studio album by hip hop group Thug Life, started by rapper Tupac Shakur. The group featured Big Syke, Macadoshis, Mopreme, The Rated R and Tupac Shakur. Among the notable tracks on the album are “Bury Me a G”, “Cradle to the Grave”, “Pour Out a Little Liquor” (which also appears on the soundtrack to the 1994 film Above the Rim), “How Long Will They Mourn Me?” and “Str8 Ballin'”. The album was originally released by Shakur’s label Out Da Gutta Records. Urban Legends/UMe will reissue Thug Life: Volume 1 in 1LP 180 Gram black vinyl on 22nd November, 2019.


Thug Life is the most overlooked and under-appreciated album in the 2pac discography, there's even a bunch of 2pac fans that don't know it even exists. The group is led by 2pac and the other members are his brother Mopreme, Big Syke, Macadoshis and The Rated R. The album can be considered the halfway point in Pac's career where he abandoned his political style and went for a fully "Thug" street style. This is also the moment where Pac started to really get emotional in his way of rapping, he's got a certain way of putting emphasis on some words that it makes it sounds like he really means what he says. The other group members fit perfectly for the purpose of this album, perhaps Big Syke is the standout but everyone really comes nice with a rough-edge street style. The production is also excellent, the beats are bangin' but they don't take too much space like on Pac's previous release "Strictly" which leaves plenty room for the heartfelt street stories. The album isn't very long with only 10 songs but everything is just great and focused, the album also contains my all time favorite 2pac song "Bury Me a G" which is another plus. Definitely a must-have for all the 2pac fans, this is also one of the top west coast albums of the year 1994.

By: diction

A1 Bury Me A G
A2 Don't Get It Twisted
A3 Shit Don't Stop
A4 Pour Out A Little Liquor
A5 Stay True
B1 How Long Will They Mourn Me?
B2 Under Pressure
B3 Street Fame
B4 Cradle To The Grave
B5 Str8 Ballin'

Record Label : Interscope

"25th Anniversary 180 Gram Vinyl" on sticker