Planxty - After The Break (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Fourth studio album by the Irish folk band, originally released in 1979. As its title suggests, this was the first album released after the group's initial split in 1975 (although Dónal Lunny and Christy Moore had resigned, separately, earlier). The album was produced by Lunny and engineered by Brian Masterson, who had worked with the band since their earliest shows. It is the first of two albums to feature future Chieftains member Matt Molloy on flute, who had earlier been playing with Lunny in The Bothy Band.


'After The Break', Planxty's fourth album released in 1979, is a wonderful collection of folk music with a Bulgarian dance thrown in for good measure. The 'break' certainly didn't do them any harm. This is wonderful foot-tapping music played and sung to perfection by a superb band. Recommended.
By: Tim Blue

The Good Ship Kangaroo
East At Glendart / Brian O'Lynn / Pay The Reckoning (Double Jigs)
You Rambling Boys Of Pleasure
The Lady On The Island / The Gatehouse Maid / The Virginia / Callaghan's (Reels)
The Rambling Siúler
The Blackberry Blossom / Lucky In Love / The Dairy Maid (Reels)
The Pursuit Of Farmer Michael Hayes
Smeceno Horo

Remastered Audio
180gm Heavyweight Vinyl
Download code included

Tara Records