Faith No More - King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime (2LP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

King for a Day... Fool for a Lifetime is the fifth studio album by San Francisco-based band Faith No More, released on March 28, 1995 by Slash and Reprise Records. It was their first album recorded without longtime guitarist Jim Martin. The album showcased a greater variety than the band's usual heavy metal leanings, with Rolling Stone calling the result a "genre shuffle". The album spawned three singles—"Digging the Grave", "Ricochet" and "Evidence".

Following Martin's departure, Trey Spruance was brought on to perform on the album, having also been in Mr. Bungle with singer Mike Patton. Production of the album was further marred by the band suffering a car accident, and by the absence of keyboard player Roddy Bottum, who was affected by the deaths of both his father and Kurt Cobain, whose wife was his close friend. Spruance was replaced on the supporting tour by the band's former roadie Dean Menta. However, Spruance played live with Faith No More for the first time in November 2011, playing the entire album during a show in Chile.

Critical reception to the album has been mixed, with its varied genres being cited as a detraction by several reviewers. The album earned the band two Bay Area Music award nominations. The album's first two singles showed more of the typical heavy metal style while "Evidence" was a departure from the band's typical sound, incorporating jazz and funk elements.

Faith No More are never going to be a band who garner middling reviews; they either attract vitriolic hatred or fulsome admiration. Similarly, their music defies a simplistic evaluation. The reason? Faith No More have no limitations. Their music runs the whole gamut from death metal to lounge-core cool which means all but the most eclectic music fan will have anything other than a pick 'n' mix appreciation of King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime. The music is, in turns, deranged, darkly humorous, funky, schizophrenic, versatile, jazzy and ferocious and Mike Patton's vocal somehow manages to swing from screaming caged animal to countrified twang without ever sounding forced or bogus. Listening to the album in one sitting is quite a trip and I know that even some of the more hardened Faith No More fans have occasion to skip certain tracks; such is their diversification.

King For A Day, Fool For A Morning is certainly more diverse than previous album Angel Dust – and some of that could be down to the change in personnel. It may only have been guitarist Jim Martin that called it quits but the loss of the satisfying crunch of his old school riffs has changed the dynamic of the whole band. I've no idea of the circumstances behind his departure but it's always seemed slightly odd to me that Trey Spruance, who was drafted in to play guitar on this album, is not listed with the other members of the band on the sleeve notes and doesn't warrant a photograph. Was his inclusion only a temporary measure? Did the band expect Martin to return? Whatever this isn't the same Faith No More.

I also believe that when you listen to tracks like "Get Out", "Ricochet", "Cuckoo For Caca" and "Ugly In The Morning" you can hear the template for nu-metal being forged. It may seem a little unpalatable to think that bands like Linkin Park, Limp Bizkit, Blink 182, et al sprang from such an esteemed outfit as Faith No More but there it is. But those bands only chose to adopt the heads down, trashy thrash approach and there was always more to Faith No More than that.

"Digging The Grave" may not be the most revolutionary of hard rock songs but it's a brilliant throwback to when the genre sounded fresh and cutting edge. It remains one of my favourite tracks by the band. "Star A.D." has a jazzy backdrop that shouldn't work but somehow feels just right. "King For A Day" is almost progressive in its attitude. And superb ballads like "Take This Bottle", "Just A Man", "Caralho Voador" and, especially, "Evidence" are proof enough that this was a band almost unique in its take on what rock music was all about.

King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime is an album I've always sat on the fence about and hearing it again my attitude hasn't changed. It's great while it lasts but it's not something I'd come back to in a hurry. However, what it does do is drive home how good a band Faith No More were and how much they're missed.

By: Grampus

A1 Get Out
A2 Ricochet
A3 Evidence
A4 The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies
A5 Star A.D.
A6 Cuckoo For Caca
B1 Caralho Voador
B2 Ugly In The Morning
B3 Digging The Grave
B4 Take This Bottle
B5 King For A Day
C1 What A Day
C2 The Last To Know
C3 Just A Man
Bonus tracks
C4 Absolute Zero
C5 Greenfields
D1 I Started A Joke
D2 Spanish Eyes
D3 I Won't Forget You
D4 Hippie Jam Song
D5 Evidence (Versione Italiana)
D6 I Wanna F**k Myself

Catalogue Number: 828 560-1

Record Label: London Records

Parental advisory sticker