Emmylou Harris - Wrecking Ball (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Originally released in 1995, Emmylou Harris's groundbreaking, Daniel Lanois-produced album returns to vinyl. 'Wrecking Ball' won the 1996 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album, and was highly praised by critics worldwide. Proclaimed 'a masterpiece' by Uncut, 'the most daring, inventive album of Harris's career'. Mojo called it 'a deeply addictive record that sounds like a window on Harris's soul', while Rolling Stone said 'the album features unvarnished, otherworldly renditions of songs written by Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, Steve Earle, and other lesser-known artists'.


Released at the height of the alt-country boom in the mid-1990s, Emmylou Harris' Wrecking Ball caught many people by surprise. Dropping her more conventional, albeit fine and tasteful, mainstream Nashville country sound behind, thanks to producer/auteur Daniel Lanois, Harris is re-energized here. Lanois, who had previously gotten Bob Dylan's career back on track with Oh Mercy in 1989, does the same for Harris on this album. The track listing consists primarily of covers; however, most of them are so shockingly re-arranged that it's hard to tell anybody else wrote them. She mines the songbooks of Steve Earle, Neil Young, Lucinda Williams, Gillian Welch, Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, and Anna McGarrigle, making their songs totally her own. Lanois' atmospheric soundscape can be problematic at times, though. As with his other works, the drums sound incredibly weak. Also, Harris' high notes seem to disappear into the ether of the production all too often. But these are minor criticisms for an album that successfully re-imagines country music. It's too bad that more (mainstream) country artists did not pursue this heavenly direction.

By: Yerblues

A1 Where Will I Be
A2 Goodbye
A3 All My Tears
A4 Wrecking Ball
A5 Goin" Back To Harlan
A6 Deeper Well
B1 Every Grain Of Sand
B2 Sweet Old World
B3 May This Be Love
B4 Orphan Girl
B5 Blackhawk
B6 Waltz Across Texas Tonight

Nonesuch Records