Neil Young - Homegrown (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Neil Young has said this album is 'the unheard bridge between Harvest and Comes a Time', which perfectly describes the warm, semi-acoustic feel of these twelve songs. Originally intended to be released in 1975, the album has remained unreleased since then, and has a legendary status among Neil's fans. Seven of the songs are previously unreleased on any album, and different versions of the other five songs would appear on later Neil Young albums. Neil plays guitar, piano and harmonica on the album, and is accompanied by a stellar group of musicians including Levon Helm, Ben Keith, Karl T Himmel, Tim Drummond, Emmylou Harris and Robbie Robertson.

So here it is, the legendary missing piece of one of NYs many puzzles. Pulled from release in 1975 as NY found it too personal. He was splitting from wife Carrie Sondgress and these songs where his response to that turbulent time in his life. The album sounds very much of its time. If it had come out in 1975 I expect it would have been considered a classic from that era. But Instead of Homegrown we got Tonight's the Night and after listening to Homegrown, I think we got the best end of the stick. For me, Tonight's the Night is a vastly superior record to Homegrown. The impact of Homegrown may have been lessoned by the fact that 5 of 12 tracks did show up in one form or another on Decade, Hawks and Doves, Ragged Glory and American Stars N Bars. I think if Homegrown was released in 1975 and Tonight's the Night was shelved and released in 2020, then the impact of hearing Tonight's the Night for the first time 45 years after it was shelved would be far greater than the first listen of Homegrown. Don't get me wrong, Homegrown is a good record, but it's not up there with NY's best.

By: Don Revie

A1 Separate Ways
A2 Try
A3 Mexico
A4 Love Is A Rose
A5 Homegrown
A6 Florida
A7 Kansas
B1 We Don't Smoke It No More
B2 White Line
B3 Vacancy
B4 Little Wing
B5 Star Of Bethlehem

Recorded between June 1974 and January 1975.

Mastered from original analog tapes.

Includes printed inner sleeve with list of songs and credits.