Mastodon - Once More 'Round The Sun (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Once More 'Round the Sun is the sixth studio album by American heavy metal band Mastodon. Bill Kelliher stated about the album's musical style: "We're always trying to surprise ourselves and write something that's new and fresh. It's definitely got the elements of The Hunter in there, but also [of] Remission and some heavier stuff. There's a lot of different influences, from Alice in Chains to Deftones. There's a lot of rock going on." Brann Dailor described the album: "It's gonna be massive and insane, lots of epic greatness. There will be lots of huge riffs and new directions. It's real weird, real "math-y", real straightforward. It's up, down and all around."

Kelliher also stated that the album's theme might be "death". He stated the following: "It always makes for really good story telling. It's kind of the theme that we have a lot in our music. We've had a lot of friends pass away since the last record. I'm not really sure yet. I think we're kind of focusing more about living on this earth and what would happen if this was your last year to live. I think that's sort of maybe a little bit of what we might be kind of touching on."


Progressive metal is a genre that appeals to the heavier side of my musical nature and taste. I like the overall feel and underlying themes that make it different from straight up rock or straight forward metal.
There is heavy riffage, yet melodic passages and vocals that serve to make a more interesting listening experience.
Mastodon used to deliver their music with a sledgehammer on their earlier albums, but have refined things of late, and nowadays use more of a flying mallet instead. I prefer this slightly less forceful approach, which gives a chance for more intricate interplay and instrumentation to filter through.
This album certainly has its heavy moments, but nothing too brutal. The melodic parts lift things up way before anything becomes too sludgy or set in concrete. There is a nice balance struck, and the overall feeling is quite satisfying.

By: MusicBeetle

A1 Tread Lightly
A2 The Motherload
A3 High Road
B1 Once More 'Round The Sun
B2 Chimes At Midnight
B3 Asleep In The Deep
C1 Feast Your Eyes
C2 Aunt Lisa
C3 Ember City
D1 Halloween
D2 Diamond In The Witch House

Recorded at Rock Falcon Studio, Franklin, TN. Additional recording at The Projector Room, Decatur, CA.
Track D2 additional vocals recorded above the Sunset Bar, Martigny, Switzerland.
Mixed at Rock Falcon Studio, Franklin, TN and Paramount, CA.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York City.