Leonard Cohen - Live At The Isle Of Wight 1970 (2XLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €34,00
Tax included.

Over 40 summers ago on August 31, 1970, 35-year-old Leonard Cohen was awakened at 2 a.m. from a nap in his trailer and brought onstage to perform with his band at the 3rd annual Isle Of Wight music festival. The audience of 600,000 was in a fiery and frenzied mood, after turning the festival into a political arena, trampling the fences, setting fire to structures and equipment and stoked by the most incendiary performance of Jimi Hendrix's career, less than three weeks before his death. As Cohen followed Hendrix's set, onlookers (and fellow festival headliners) Joan Baez, Kris Kristofferson, Judy Collins and others stood sidestage in awe as the Canadian folksinger-songwriter-poet-novelist quietly tamed the crowd. Recorded at the 1970 Isle Of Wight music festival and originally released in 2009, Leonard Cohen Live At The Isle Of Wight was Cohen’s 19th album released and marks what is widely regarded as one of the most remarkable live performances in history. Pressed on standard black vinyl.

LP pressing on 180-gram vinyl.


What a wonderful treat: great sound and viewing considering that it was recorded in 1970. I am currently reading Sylvie Simmons' fantastic biography of Leonard, 'I'm Your Man', and have just reached the descriptions of The Isle of Wight festival, with a stoned Leonard at 4.00 in the morning being so well received by a potentially 'difficult' and restive audience. The result is enthralling visually (lots of LC close-ups) and musically, with a comic perspective, as you hold your breath in case Leonard or the band can't hold it together well enough to perform properly! I was already a fan of Leonard Cohen in 1970 and how I would love to have been there......well, this is the next best thing.

By: AlienDreamtime


A1 Introduction
A2 Bird On The Wire
A3 Intro To So Long, Marianne
A4 So Long, Marianne
A5 Intro: “Let’s Renew Ourselves Now...”
A6 You Know Who I Am
B1 Intro To Poems
B2 Lady Midnight
B3 They Locked Up A Man (Poem) / A Person Who Eats Meat / Intro
B4 One Of Us Cannot Be Wrong
B5 The Stranger Song
C1 Tonight Will Be Fine
C2 Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye
C3 Diamonds In The Mine
C4 Suzanne
D1 Sing Another Song, Boys
D2 The Partisan
D3 Famous Blue Raincoat
D4 Seems So Long Ago, Nancy

Catalogue Number:  MOVLP005

Record Label: Columbia Records / Music On Vinyl