Billie Holiday - Billie: The Original Soundtrack (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Companion Soundtrack to the James Erskine-directed documentary on the breathtaking talent of Billie Holiday. Billie Holiday featured with her band, The Sonhouse All Stars, performing her classic works including 'I Only Have Eyes For You', 'God Bless The Child', 'Strange Fruit' and more. Billie features newly unearthed interviews from those who knew Holiday best - Charles Mingus, Tony Bennett, Sylvia Syms and Count Basie among them.

This record includes some of the best-known tracks Holiday has recorded, and she is accompanied on two tracks by The Sonhouse All Stars. Actually “some of the best-known” is the closest description you can give, because those working on the selection here definitely had a hard and painful time excluding almost anything, particularly her interpretations of songs such as “Body And Soul” or “Moonlight In Vermont.” What is presented on the soundtrack certainly deserves to be here – “God Bless The Child,” “Don’t Explain” or “Strange Fruit” are certainly some of the best vocal renditions Holiday made. No matter how many years since she recorded “Strange Fruit,” the potency of that song and its message still remains as strong as ever. This is not just a companion to the documentary, but possibly the Billie Holiday collection you want to have close to the top of your “play again” pile, or a perfect holiday gift for those you care about.

By: WillyBizz

A1 Now Or Never
A2 God Bless The Child
A3 Hoppin' Around
A4 Blues Are Brewin
A5 Funeral In New Orleans
A6 Fine And Mellow
A7 Strange Fruit
B1 Just One More Chance
B2 My Man
B3 I Only Have Eyes For You
B4 I'll Never Smile Again
B5 Don't Explain
B6 I Loves You Porgy

Record Label : Verve

Cat No: 0602435056685