Jeff Wayne - Jeff Wayne's Musical Version Of The War Of The Worlds (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

One of the most ground-breaking albums all time, Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of the Worlds was originally released in 1978, and has since enjoyed huge success and critical acclaim across the globe. The masterpiece remains a firm favourite to millions around the world, having sold over 15.5 million records, and spending 260 consecutive weeks in the UK album charts on initial release. It achieved two international hit singles - 'Forever Autumn' and 'The Eve of The War', and has been Top 10 in 22 countries (#1 in 11 of them.) The album also won two prestigious UK Ivor Novello Awards, the US Best Recording in Science Fiction and Fantasy (for which the judges included Alfred Hitchcock, George Lucas and Steven Spielberg), as well as Classic Rock's 'Showman of The Year' Award for Jeff Wayne himself. It has grown into a true classic, acquiring new generations of devoted followers since its original release, and spawning further audio re-imaginings, plus film, TV, theatre, and immersive VR adaptations. This reissue of the original double 12’’ vinyl album is stunningly remastered for a superior sounding audio experience, and also includes the original double gatefold with 16-page booklet containing the full script, lyrics, original paintings, and credits.

My late Mom bought this for me for Christmas 1978 and since then it has been a firm favourite. I can got for a couple of years without playing it, but once I do I can't stop playing it! I have bought several copies of it over the years, including the New Generation version, which I actually quite liked. I decided to buy this new re-release just to see if anything was different and also because most of the copies I already own are a little crackly and worse for wear now. The album is pressed on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl and housed in two plain white sleeves - disappointingly these aren't poly-lined, but you can't have everything. The labels are plain red rather than the familiar CBS labels. The sound quality is superb with no hiss or crackle even in the quiet passages. The booklet is how it always was and hasn't been updated, so Jeff Wayne is still expecting his first child in July 1978! The reprint of the booklet is spot on and again is just how I remember it. I spent many hours as a youngster going over every detail of every painting in the booklet. A genuinely outstanding re-release and hopefully will persuade those who aren't familiar with it to buy it and give it a whirl.

By:  SpodoKomodo

The Coming Of The Martians
A1 The Eve Of The War
A2 Horsell Common And The Heat Ray
B1 The Artilleryman And The Fighting Machine
B2 Forever Autumn
B3 Thunderchild
The Earth Under The Martians
C1 The Red Weed (Part 1)
C2 The Spirit Of Man
C3 The Red Weed (Part 2)
C4 The Artilleryman Returns
D1 Brave New World
D2 Dead London (Part 1)
D3 Dead London (Part 2)
D4 Epilogue (Part 1)
D5 Epilogue (Part 2) (NASA)

Includes full colour 16-page booklet.
℗ 2005 & © 2017
Made in the EU