Hozier - Hozier (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €30,00
Tax included.

2014 debut album from the acclaimed Irish musician. Following up his two EPs, he co- produced the new album with Ron Kirwan (PJ Harvey and Depeche Mode). Tastemakers and critics have wholeheartedly embraced Hozier's spirited and soulful sound. He's drawn praise from NPR, New York Magazine, KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic, MTV Buzzworthy, Consequence of Sound, and more.


Hozier has enjoyed an incredible level of success in a relatively short time on the scene. Less than 2 years after releasing his first EP and within months of releasing his debut album, Hozier is now a household name across the planet. There is no doubting the man is talented but so are many other artists who work and tour endlessly in the hope of getting their music heard, all to no avail. What sets Hozier apart from all the rest? To me it is down to him making the right video for the right song at exactly the right time. Whether it was on purpose or pure luck, Hozier's song "Take Me To Church" and more importantly the video that went with it. At a time when gay rights is not only an important and topical issue but also a huge populist issue (as seen in the build up to and results of the May 2015 marriage referendum in Ireland), the video to "Take Me To Church" fed into the Zeitgeist. Good luck to Hozier with it - its a great song and deserves to be heard. The annals are full of one hit wonders but Hozier has successfully followed up his breakthrough hit with a string of others. While nothing on the eponymous "Hozier" comes close to the 9 out of 10 "Take Me To Church", it is an album that deserves a pat on the back for its consistency. Every 2 or 3 years, an artist breaks through with an album seemingly loaded with hit singles and proceeds to take over the global airwaves. As it is, "Hozier" already sounds like a greatest hits compilation. You can see why the record has been such a commercial success - the music is catchy, current and has more or less a universal appeal. That said, it will be interesting to listening back in a couple of years and see just how well it lasts - I feel Hozier lacks the depth of the truly great solo artists and his worth will only really be seen across his next few albums.

By: therealricko

A1 Take Me To Church
A2 Angel Of Small Death & The Codeine Scene
A3 Jackie And Wilson
B1 Someone New
B2 To Be Alone
B3 From Eden
C1 In A Week
C2 Sedated
C3 Work Song
D1 Like Real People Do
D2 It Will Come Back
D3 Foreigner's God
D4 Cherry Wine (Live)

Recorded in Wicklow and Dublin: in the attic and at Cauldron, Westland and Exchequer Studios.
'Cherry Wine' (track 13) recorded live outdoors in Greystones at 6am.

Includes an MP3 download code.
Gatefold with lyrics inner sleeves.