Goldfrapp - Supernature (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

Originally released on 17th August 2005, Supernature has been out of print for many years and will be available on translucent green vinyl with an exclusive art print of the original artwork – designed by Mat Maitland.

The album was reached #2 on the UK Charts, amassing 52,000 in its first week and was nominated for a Grammy in 2007. Described by The Guardian as “a brash, beautiful celebration of love and dancing” whilst Rolling Stone declared the album “toxic and delicious” and “will make you do bad things – and like it”. ‘Supernature’ serves as Goldfrapp’s most commercially successful album and includes their most popular single ‘Ooh La La’.

Includes exclusive art print of the original artwork.


There’s nothing fluffy about Supernature. It goes hard with scintillating beauty, shooting peak Moroder through a bracing electro crunch and buzzing synth lines. They add to that a pinch of Sparks-esque farce, some touches of Cabaret, a portion of Old Hollywood huskiness and another big one of 70s glam rock (with actual guitars, and if not, synths acting like guitars).

At this point in their career Alison and Will did set out to make a straightforward dance-pop album, albeit one entirely on their own terms. With Alison’s rudimentary lyrics touching on ''the glittering lights of Hell'', something that is ''sharp as teeth and stars,” along with various references to hallucinatory states and heroin itself, it seems that for Supernature, Goldfrapp has more opaque desires in mind than the simple escapism and celebration that most dance-pop albums aim for. There’s enough emotional intensity throughout to occassionally rise above the shiny veneer and send the blood rushing, as in “Koko” which almost approaches Treasure territory.

The more muscular approach to the production and composition does result in some undercooked material (predominantly on the second half) but even then, those tracks are irresistible. What’s interesting is that the sense of urgency and levity present on the uptempo tracks punctuates some of the mid/downtempo ones as well, like the backmasked tides that flow through ‘’Let It Take You’’ and the rushing stop-starts that open ‘’You Never Know’’. ''Time Out the World’’ is the only song where Alison and Will truly let the arrangement swoon at its own pace; and as a sort of marquee ballad, the results of that are indelible and spectacular.

Besides, what could Alison have in common with Kylie or Madonna? Her vocals, whether stretched low and thick like caramel or rising high to the heavens, (together with an often mush-mouthed delivery) are as far from bubblegum as you can get. Not since Liz Fraser had someone brought esoteric vocals this close to the mainstream, or sounded so fabulous at it.

That would be one way to deflect the accusations of frivolity, another is that there’s generally something a bit wild about Goldfrapp for them to be held against careerist electro divas. They seem more in the lineage of a particularly British exuberance that dates back to early Bowie and Marc Bolan (their saint patron) and on to Kate Bush and Siouxsie Sioux. If not in depth or trajectory, they can rest assured that in spirit. And just like those artists, they do come up with memorable pop singles, some of which belong in this album.

By: Iriscar

A1 Ooh La La
A2 Lovely 2 C U
A3 Ride A White Horse
A4 You Never Know
A5 Let It Take You
B1 Fly Me Away
B2 Slide In
B3 Koko
B4 Satin Chic
B5 Time Out From The World
B6 Number 1

On hype sticker: