The Jimmy Castor Bunch - It's Just Begun (Vinyl LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

James Walter 'Jimmy' Castor was an American pop and funk musician. He is best known as a fun energetic disco, funk saxophonist, with his biggest hit singles 'Troglodyte (Cave Man)' and 'It's Just Begun'. Originally released in 1972, 'It's Just Begun' set the tone for The Jimmy Castor Bunch's success through an effective and distinctive mix of funk, pop hooks, social commentary and gonzo comedy. The album also helped the group score a million-selling crossover hit single with 'Troglodyte'. In the United States the track peaked at #6 in the Billboard Hot 100. It was a million seller by June 1972 and received a gold disc award from the RIAA. Recently the hit 'It's Just Begun' was featured in the HBO® television series Vinyl. It has also been sampled by bands and solo artists throughout history. But 'Troglodyte (Cave Man)' was the most extensively used track, mainly due to it spoken word intro 'What we're gonna do right here is go back, way back, back into time…'. It has been heavily sampled (over 85 times!) in hiphop music and dance/pop music by a diverse group of artists from N.W.A. for 'Gangsta Gangsta' to 'Back In The Day' by Christina Aguilera. 'It's Just Begun' is an outstanding album with a unique sound making up a coherent funk and soul album and a must have for every fan of this genre.


This was probably one of my 10-20 favorite records of all-time when I was 18/19, an absolute funk monster with some heavy psychedelic stylings. Funkadelic is probably the closest contemporary, but there's something that's even grimier about the sound Castor found on this record. Nothing I've ever heard makes the hairs on the back of neck stand up and make me wanna dance quite as much as that central rhythm for the classic track "Troglodyte (Cave Man)," which earns extra points for being one of the more totally ridiculous singles of the 1970s. The title track is also a stone-cold masterpiece, the call-and-response style of the verses and horn section just irresistibly funky. Other standouts include "L.T.D.," an extended psychedelic jam, and the very Sly Stone-ish "Bad." This is highly recommended to any fan of either of the above-mentioned artists, Shuggie Otis, The Temptations, WAR, or just funk in general.

By: msnvwlz

A1 Creation (Prologue)
A2 It's Just Begun
A3 Troglodyte (Cave Man)
A4 You Better Be Good (Or The Devil Gon' Getcha)
A5 Psyche
B1 L. T. D. (Life, Truth & Death)
B2 My Brightest Day
B3 Bad
B4 I Promise To Remember
B5 Creation (Epilogue)

Catalogue Number:  MOVLP1748
Record Label: Music On Vinyl