Frank Sinatra - Song for Swingin' Lovers (Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Songs for Swingin' Lovers! is the tenth album by American singer/crooner Frank Sinatra and his fourth for Capitol Records. It was arranged by Nelson Riddle and released in March 1956 on LP. It was the first album ever to top the UK Albums Chart. This album was arranged by Nelson Riddle, and took a different tack after In The Wee Hours (1955), recording existing pop standards in a hipper, jazzier fashion, revealing an overall exuberance in the vein of his previous albums. Sinatra aficionados often rank it his best or second best album (to In The Wee Small Hours) and many music critics consider it one of the greatest albums of its era.

1xLP 180g Heavyweight Vinyl.


OK, it's time to stop dragging my feet and actually get down to writing this review. It's a review I've had a hard time writing for a variety of reasons. Each of the following issues added to the difficulty of writing this review. Perhaps by explaining the difficulties I'll somehow end up describing the record.

Shut up. It might work.

A. I like listening to Songs for Swingin' Lovers! It's just a great listen. The music is robust and full of life, but it doesn't beat you over the head. When I set out to write a review of an album, it's essentially the only thing I listen to until I finish the review. I've noticed what this means is that writing a review of an album I really like can take a long time simply because I'm enjoying listening to it and don't really want the experience to end. That's definitely the case here. It's all I've listened to for three days. I'm not exactly ready for it to end.

B. Historical significance I think this must be a very important album, but I'm just not quite sure what its importance really is. Undeniably, Frank Sinatra was one of the most imortant recording artists of the twentieth century, and Songs for Swingin' Lovers! is one of his best albums. Is it as important as In the Wee Small Hours or Songs for Young Lovers? I don't know. I'm ignorant in that regard. I just suspect it's a mighty important record. My lack of knowledge in this regard is a disappointment to me.

C. The Sound My feeling is that Sinatra's voice peaked in the mid-to-late fifties. Of all of his great albums, on Songs for Swingin' Lovers! Sinatra's voice sounds like it's at its youngest and most fresh. There's still a hint of the young man who sang for Tommy Dorsey in the tone of the voice on these tracks. Thing is, the album was released in the middle of a string of landmark recordings and came a year after In the Wee Small Hours, which is one of Sinatra's most mature recordings. This was part Frank's greatness. He brought the songs to life, like a method actor would bring a part to life in a movie. Frank could put on or remove 10 years to his voice's tone depending on the needs of the song.

D. Song Selection There's not an album in Sinatra's canon, and few to ever have been recorded, that contain as many landmark, definitive recordings as Songs for Swingin' Lovers!.
"You Make Me Feel So Young"
"You're Getting to Be a Habit With Me"
"Old Devil Moon"
"Pennies From Heaven"
"Love Is Here to Stay"
"I've Got You Under My Skin"
"I Thought About You"
"Makin' Whoopee"
"Anything Goes"
"How About You?"
Each of these is not only the definitive Sinatra recording, it's the definitive version of the song period, end of story. Can you beat that? So, how do you describe a set of recordings like this? It's the core problem for writing this review. My God, what a great set of songs.
OK, I think that does it. Mission accomplished.

By: AtomicWedgie.

A1 You Make Me Feel So Young
A2 It Happened in Monterey
A3 You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
A4 You Brought A New Kind of Love To Me
A5 Too Marvellous For Words
A6 Old Devil Moon
A7 Pennies From Heaven
A8 Love Is Here To Stay
B1 I’ve Got You Under My Skin
B2 I Thought About You
B3 We’ll Be Together Again
B4 Makin’ Whoopee
B5 Swingin’ Down The Lane
B6 Anything Goes
B7 How About You?

B8 Chicago

180g heavyweight orange coloured vinyl.


Includes bonus track "Chicago".