Etta James - At Last (Limited Edition Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

It was in the Sixties when Etta James truly found her musical direction and made a lasting mark as a soulful pop and blues diva. Her debut album, At Last!, was released in late 1960 and was noted for its varied choice in music from jazz standards to blues numbers to doo-wop and rhythm & blues. The album received a five-star rating in All Music Guide, with Stephen Cook stating that, After spending a few years in limbo after scoring her first R&B hits Dance With Me, Henry and Good Rocking Daddy, Etta James returned to the spotlight in 1961 with her first Chess release, At Last! James made both the R&B and pop charts with the album s title cut, All I Could Do Was Cry, and Trust in Me. What makes At Last! a great album is not only the solid hits it contains, but also the strong variety of material throughout. James expertly handles jazz standards like Stormy Weather and A Sunday Kind of Love, as well as Willie Dixon s blues classic I Just Want to Make Love to You. She demonstrates her keen facility on the title track in particular, as she easily moves from powerful blues shouting to more subtle, airy phrasing; her Ruth Brown-inspired, bad-girl growl only adds to the intensity. On this album one hears the singer at her peak in a swinging and varied program of blues, R&B, and jazz standards. At Last! was ranked #119 on Rolling Stone s list of 500 Greatest Albums of All Time in 2012.

Limited Edition 180gm Gatefold Vinyl.


There isn't a single bad song on this album, only varying shades of good and great, making it a pure pleasure to listen to. Etta James has one of the best female pop voices of all time and deserves a larger listenership even today in 2021. Why don't we play Etta James on radios everywhere? Oh, I forgot that the music industry is about making a profit, not about promoting the highest quality of music.

Excuse me for getting a little political there, but Etta James gets me a little fired up. Her energy is contagious. Back on subject, my favorite tracks on this album are "Anything To Say You're Mine", "Trust In Me", "At Last", "Stormy Weather", and "Girl Of My Dreams". Etta takes you through sadness, longing, tenderness, jealousy, enthusiastic love, anger, and joy. Her powerful yet nuanced voice conveys the realness of her emotions, making you feel as if she's giving a private performance for you alone.

I highly recommend you listen to this if you haven't yet, especially if you're sick of the semi-musical modern/post-modern offerings that people listen to these days. Oh dear, look at me, I've done it again.

By: lemorph

A1 Anything To Say You're Mine
A2 My Dearest Darling
A3 Trust In Me
A4 Sunday Kind Of Love
A5 Tough Mary
B1 I Just Want To Make Love To You
B2 At Last
B3 All I Could Do Was Cry
B4 Stormy Weather
B5 Girl Of My Dreams (rendered as Boy Of My Dreams)


Recorded in Chicago, Illinois, between 1960 and 1961.

Originally issued as At Last! (Argo Records LPS-4003).
37026 © & ℗ 2016 Jazz Images. Made in the E.U.
On The Cover: Etta at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux, Switzerland, July 11, 1975.
Photos © by Jean-Pierre Leloir.