Drake - Take Care (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €48,00
Tax included.

Second studio album by the Canadian hip hop artist. The album features the singles 'Headlines', 'Make Me Proud' (featuring Nicki Minaj) and 'Take Care' (featuring Rihanna), and includes other collaborations with The Weeknd, Birdman, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne and Andre 3000.


I'm generally fine with smooth and "romantic" music, but Drake's problem is that he's not a likeable person. He's irritating, kinda gross (yes I'm a 12 year old girl) and not very competent at his craft - thus it's a bit hard to listen to him complain about his inane problems for 80 minutes straight. Taking that into account, it's strange how listenable this record really is. Of course that's mainly due to its lovely production quirks: the GSH via Jamie XX via 40 beat of "Take Care" is brilliant, and turning "Back That Azz Up" into some kind of minimalistic fucking waltz in "Practice" is a similarly clever idea. I also enjoyed hearing Rick Ross say "anime". What I didn't enjoy was the parts where Drake took over, "Marvin's Room" in particular is an abomination, it's eight minutes of absolutely fucking nothing, until Kendrick Lamar came around and dropped a few bars about pussy for some reason.

Those comparing this to Kanye's twisted fantasy are reaching badly, this has none of the singular vision or glamorous bombast that Kanye drops at will; I'd much rather compare it to Erykah Badu or any other "ambitious" contemporary r&b singer, except that Drake has no charisma or any other redeeming qualities really. Which makes this a rather singular record, I guess.

By: Stoned Wallaby

A1 Over My Dead Body
A2 Shot For Me
A3 Headlines
A4 Crew Love
B1 Take Care
B2 Marvins Room / Buried Alive (Interlude)
B3 Under Ground Kings
B4 We'll Be Fine
C1 Make Me Proud
C2 Lord Knows
C3 Cameras / Good Ones Go (Interlude)
C4 Doing It Wrong
D1 The Real Her
D2 Look What You've Done
D3 HYFR (Hell Ya Fucking Right)
D4 Practice
D5 The Ride

Inside cover incorrectly lists the deluxe edition bonus tracks ("The Motto Feat. Lil Wayne" & "Hate Sleeping Alone"), but neither song is actually on this release. The cat # is listed on the spine and the rear cover. 2LP housed in a gatefold sleeve.