Fatboy Slim - The Greatest Hits (Why Try Harder) (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

In 1996, Norman Cook adopted the name Fatboy Slim and released Better Living Through Chemistry to critical acclaim. Follow-up albums You've Come a Long Way, Baby, Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars, and Palookaville, as well as singles such as "The Rockafeller Skank", "Praise You", "Right Here, Right Now", "Weapon of Choice", and "Wonderful Night", achieved commercial and critical success. In 2008, Cook formed the Brighton Port Authority with David Byrne. He has been responsible for successful remixes for Cornershop, the Beastie Boys, A Tribe Called Quest, Groove Armada, and Wildchild. In 2010, in partnership with Byrne, he released the concept album Here Lies Love. Cook holds the Guinness World Record for most top-40 hits under different names. This stomping double album spanning 1996 to 2006! Features "The Rockafeller Skank", "Praise You", "Right Here, Right Now", "Sunset (Bird Of Prey)" and more.

For 90% of the people who know stuff by Fatboy Slim, this might be just all they need. It contains all the hits (except the horrible The Joker cover version, thank fuck for that) presented in digestible format - that is to say radio edits or cut versions especially for this compilation. So no track exceeds the 4-minute mark besides one of the 2 new tracks here, That Old Pair Of Jeans. I really like it, it doesn't bring something new to the typical Fatboy Slim sound but rather refines it in a mellow way. A fitting end for a greatest hits compilation.

The second new track on here is Champion Sound, a screwed up next-time-it's-hiphop track which somehow brings to mind, if Norman Cook really doesn't see the need to try harder. Nicer is the inclusion of two of his famous remixes: I See You Baby by Groove Armada and Brimful Of Asha by Cornershop. The latter is simply one of the best songs here and hasn't lost anything of its freshness over the years. Too bad it misses the Fatboy remix of Wildchild's Renegade Master. Could have replaced some of the weaker stuff here, say Slash Dot Dash or most of the other stuff from Palookaville.

Reviewed By: Hunter_Collector

A1 Praise You
A2 Rockafeller Skank
B1 Weapon Of Choice
Featuring – Bootsy Collins
B2 Gangster Trippin
C1 Right Here, Right Now
C2 Going Out Of My Head
D1 Sunset (Bird Of Prey)
D2 Everybody Loves A Carnival


Skint Records