Various Artists - The Sound Of The Suburbs (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

17 hugely influential artists and tracks that exploded from the punk phenomenon of the late 1970s. Punk classics from Siouxsie & The Banshees, Iggy Pop, The Ruts and The Members (whose anthem gives this compilation its title) are here alongside legendary new wave tracks from The Buzzcocks, Blondie, The Skids and The Only Ones, as well as the UK #1 single 'Rat Trap' from The Boomtown Rats.

1xLP on 180h Heavyweight vinyl.


Excellent summary of the 1977 - 1981 period. This compillation has brought together seventeen songs that still work on various levels without sounding too dated - and yet successfully provide an accurate pop soundtrack for the punk and post punk era. Lots of bloody good tunes as well. It just goes to show how diverse the punk scene actually was and some of the acts included (like The Cure and Elvis Costello) went on to have very successful careers while others like The Members will be remembered for their brief yet important contribution to this exhilarating genre.
By: Summerian

A1 The Jam - Going Underground
A2 Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love With Someone
A3 Siouxsie And The Banshees - Hong Kong Garden
A4 Blondie - Hanging On The Telephone
A5 The Boomtown Rats - Rat Trap
A6 Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Oliver's Army
A7 Squeeze - Cool For Cats
A8 Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?
A9 Patti Smith Group - Because The Night
B1 The Clash - Bankrobber
B2 The Members - The Sound Of The Suburbs
B3 The Ruts - Babylon's Burning
B4 Iggy Pop - Lust For Life
B5 The Only Ones - Another Girl, Another Planet
B6 Skids - Into The Valley
B7 Adam & The Ants - Dog Eat Dog
B8 The Cure - Boys Don't Cry

Catalogue Number: 5389873

Record Label: Universal