The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

The third album from Philadelphia band War On Drugs, but in many ways, it feels like the first. The War On Drugs have become a bona fide rock ‘n’ roll band. Played and recorded by the group that solidified on the road over two years of touring, these tunes reveal a careful and thrilling reinvention of the sound. You can hear the long, drawn out tones that they’ve become known for but more than ever there’s that hint of classic American rock - Tom Petty, Bruce Springsteen et al.

Adam Granduciel began work on The War on Drugs' third album, which would become Lost in the Dream, while the band was on tour in 2012. The process of writing and recording stretched out over 15 months and employed five different studios in as many states. Instead of resulting in a disjointed pastiche of different ideas, Lost in the Dream represents the group's most lustrous, intricately detailed, and beautifully rendered record to date. While Granduciel involved his touring band more here than on any of his previous releases, his perfectionist tendencies still held sway, resulting in endless cycles of recording, revising, and scrapping. Such self-doubt wasn’t helped by the fact that Granduciel was recovering from the end of a long-term relationship -- the ashes of which are scattered all over Lost in the Dream's lyrics sheet. Its songs are expansive, and combine to form a near flawless collection of guitar theatrics and atmospheric synths that gradually, and very subtly, blossom into something wondrous and profound.

By: Call_of_the_void

A1 Under The Pressure
A2 Red Eyes
A3 Suffering
B1 An Ocean In Between The Waves
B2 Disappearing
C1 Eyes To The Wind
C2 The Haunting Idle
C3 Burning
D1 Lost In The Dream
D2 In Reverse


Cat No:  SC310

Record Label : Secretly Canadian