Snow Patrol - Wildness (Vinyl) Picture Disc

  • Sale
  • Regular price €26,00
Tax included.

Seven years have passed since Snow Patrol's last album 'Fallen Empires'. In that time the band have all ventured off into a variety of projects. Gary Lightbody continued his work with his Tired Pony side project with members of Belle and Sebastian, R.E.M, Reindeer Section and Fresh Young Fellows and moved to Los Angeles to begin writing songs for movies and doing a number of high-profile co-writes with Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, Biffy Clyro and One Direction. Taking this extended break from Snow Patrol proved to be a source of inspiration, and writing songs that were not pulled directly from his own psyche helped heal what Lightbody considered to be not so much writer’s block as life block. In the meantime the band have been working on Wildness, Snow Patrol's 7th studio album.

The album finds the band searching for clarity, connection, and meaning, while staying true to the melodic songwriting prowess that brought them to prominence. Wildness taps into something raw and primitive, and lead-singer and songwriter Gary Lightbody says of the album: “There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all it’s confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness. Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it.”

Limited Edition Picture Disc.

As a Snow Patrol fan I was very impressed with this album. To my mind it's a very mature album, once again wonderfully produced. Gary Lightbody's lyrics are as always very evocative with an emotional edge to his voice that really connects. Snow Patrol have always been a product of the sum of its parts, Lightbody's lyrics, the rest of the band's musical prowess and the wonderful Jacknife Lee production. The more stripped down accoustic sound doesnt really work for me, personal preference of course.
All in all a fantastic album to be revisited again and again.

By: M. Ling

A1 Live On Earth
A2 Don't Give In
A3 Heal Me
A4 Empress
A5 A Dark Switch
B1 What If This Is All The Love You Ever Get?
B2 A Youth Written In Fire
B3 Soon
B4 Wild Horses
B5 Life And Death

Catalogue Number: 6741254

Record Label: Polydor