Brittany Howard - Jaime (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Debut solo studio album by the lead guitarist/vocalist of chart-topping, GRAMMY-winning band, Alabama Shakes. Howard recorded 'Jaime' after a cross-country drive that took her from Nashville to a small house in Topanga, CA - a rustic Los Angeles county town wedged between the mountains and the beach. She titled the album after her sister, who taught her to play the piano and write poetry, and who died of cancer when they were still teenagers. 'The title is in memoriam, and she definitely did shape me as a human being,' says Howard. 'But, the record is not about her. It's about me. I'm pretty candid about myself and who I am and what I believe. Which is why I needed to do it on my own.'

It's good to hear from Brittany Howard this year. It's been four years since Alabama Shakes released the well-deserved AotY-nominee Sound and Color, and it seems that Brittany lost her goddamned mind in all the best ways with this release. It's still the sound she made as the leader of Alabama Shakes, but it also has a lot of influences from other musicians. Paula Abdul came to mind with her vocal delivery on "History Repeats", there's some Vangelis on "Run to Me", "He Loves Me" has the heavy beat of "When the Levee Breaks" by Led Zeppelin, and "13th Century Metal" brings Jack White and the conclusion of Kendrick Lamar's "Untitled #3" to mind. The whole album has some influence from D'Angelo, too.

Then you have her lyrics going through some mood swings - righteous, powerful, mournful, lovestruck, soulful, and indignant. "Goat Head" in particular is going to give me nightmares. Brittany is well deserving of queen status.

By: ForkCandles

  • A1 History Repeats
    A2 He Loves Me
    A3 Georgia
    A4 Stay High
    A5 Tomorrow
    A6 Short & Sweet
    B1 13th Century Metal
    B2 Baby
    B3 Goat Head
    B4 Presence
    B5 Run To Me

Catalogue Number: 1907595693L

Record Label: Columbia

Pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl.