Cigarettes After Sex - Cigarettes After Sex (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €26,00
Tax included.

Cigarettes After Sex is an American dream pop band formed in El Paso, Texas, in 2008. The band is known for their ethereal, limerent  and often dream-like musical style, lyrics often based on the themes of romance and love, as well as Gonzalez's voice, which has been described as "androgynous". While marketed as an ambient pop band, Cigarettes After Sex are also considered to be shoegaze, ambient pop, slowcore and indie rock.

Cigarettes appears in the music industry as independent and fresh musician.
What this album sounds like is pretty much a really musically poor copy of what Low where in the 90's and there's no song that add something to what has already been said in such period, in one word this album is first of all redundant. Moreover every piece is kind of empty of any real musical idea or intuition, everything seem a rendition of something else that is sadly interpreted without any kind of personality.
The reverbish feeling around all the album, as said, is not original in the way that is proposed. The lyrics are poor and add nothing if not a lullaby that in few second becomes an ambient and forgottable white noise.
The only positive feedback on this work is about the coherency between every songs, that testimony a kind of artistic view about music, but at the same time this is one of the main reason of the caused boredom.
Opera House is one of the few saveable songs with a catchy idea behind it, but even in this case the final rendition is nothing but passable.
This album is not worthy a single listening.

  • A1 K.
  • A2 Each Time You Fall In Love
  • A3 Sunsetz
  • A4 Apocalypse
  • A5 Flash
  • B1 Sweet
  • B2 Opera House
  • B3 Truly
  • B4 John Wayne
  • B5 Young & Dumb

Catalogue Number: PTKF2146-1

Record Label: Partisan Records